No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 vs. Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final
53 Grand Valley State
35 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
44 Davenport
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
55 Michigan Tech
53 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
40 Northwood
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
72 Michigan Tech
53 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
46 Michigan Tech
75 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
55 Northern Michigan
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Tue Mar 05
Final
48 Northwood
78 vs. Michigan Tech
GLIAC Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 09
Final
61 Michigan Tech
77 vs. Ashland
@ Allendale, Mich. GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Oct 24
Final
41 Michigan Tech
54 at Wis.-Green Bay
Exhibition
Fri Nov 01
Final
49 Finlandia
98 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 09
Final
73 Michigan Tech
63 at Lewis
GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Sun Nov 10
Final
71 Michigan Tech
75 vs. William Jewell
@ Romeoville, Ill. GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Fri Nov 15
Final
61 Michigan Tech
65 vs. St. Cloud State
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 16
Final
50 Michigan Tech
76 at MSU-Moorhead
Mon Nov 18
Final
80 Michigan Tech
75 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 22
Final
65 Concordia-St. Paul
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 24
Final
69 Minnesota Duluth
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 05
Final
60 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 07
Final
46 Northwood
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 15
1:00 PM
Northern Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 02
5:30 PM
Wayne State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 04
1:00 PM
Ashland
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 09
6:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Thu Jan 16
5:30 PM
Lake Superior State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 18
1:00 PM
Ferris State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 23
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Jan 25
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Thu Jan 30
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 01
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Feb 06
5:30 PM
Purdue Northwest
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 08
12:00 PM
Parkside
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 13
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Feb 15
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 20
5:30 PM
Davenport
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Grand Valley State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 27
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
View Full Schedule

Huskies Power Past Lewis 73-63 in Season Opener

Abbie Botz attempting a jump shot

ROMEOVILLE, Ill. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team had a strong start to the 2019-20 season Saturday with a 73-63 win at Lewis University in the GLIAC/GLVC Crossover Tournament Saturday. The Huskies were able to outscore the Flyers 24-11 in the second quarter to turn the tide of the game in their favor.

"I thought our players showed a lot of grit today," Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "Lewis came out hot in the first quarter, but we settled in defensively and started getting some stops in the second, which really propelled our offense. Cassidy Trotter was a big scoring spark for us today and it was great to see her playing aggressive right from the start. Abbie Botz stepped up and scored some big baskets late in the game as well. Overall, it was a great TEAM win today over a very talented Lewis team."

Senior Abbie Botz secured the first two points of the season for Michigan Tech (1-0) when she came up with a steal and cashed in a layup on the offensive end of the floor. The two teams traded baskets until Lewis (0-1) strung together a couple of field goals to go up 12-8 with 6:45 left in the first quarter. The Huskies then tied the game at 14-14 on a triple courtesy of sophomore Ellie Mackay at the 5:18 mark only to see the Flyers go up 20-15 on a Dajae Black layup with 2:28 remaining in the first.

Junior Cassidy Trotter converted a conventional three-point play with eight seconds left in the first period which closed the gap to 20-18 and sparked the Huskies offense going into the decisive second quarter. Tech got the ball first to open the second and Trotter promptly knocked down a triple to vault the Huskies back in front 21-20.

The Flyers momentarily regained the edge 22-21 on a layup from Rachel Hinders at the 9:25 mark, but it didn't last for long. Trotter dialed in another trey on the next possession to give the Huskies a 24-22 lead once again. Up 30-27 with 5:27 to go until the half, Tech began to create some separation in the final moments of the second period. Junior Baillie McGirk connected on a jumper and then came up with a steal to setup a Mackay triple to make it 35-27 with 4:20 showing on the second quarter clock.

Tech's advantage then grew to double digits for the first time when Trotter created points with a steal and subsequent layup to push the advantage to 37-27 with 2:25 to play in the second. Senior Hannah Hobson found the target from long distance in the final minute of the second quarter to make it a 42-29 score. The Huskies eventually carried a 42-31 lead into the locker room at halftime.

The Huskies never trailed the rest of the way, but the Flyers were able to stay within striking distance. However, each time Lewis appeared to be making up ground the Huskies had an answer. The Flyers cut their deficit to 52-45 with just under three minutes to play in the third quarter, but a layup courtesy of Trotter made it 54-45 with 1:02 to go in the third. Sophomore Sloane Zenner opened the fourth quarter with a triple to bump the lead out to double digits again at 57-45, which helped keep the Flyers at bay. Lewis would get no closer the rest of the afternoon as Tech continued to hit key shots in big situations down the stretch to preserve the win.

Trotter powered the Huskies on Saturday with 19 points, four rebounds, and seven steals on the defensive end of the floor. Botz followed with 15 points and a team high seven rebounds while Zenner rounded out the double-digit scorers with 14 points. McGirk collected eight points, reeled in six rebounds, and was one of three Huskies players to distribute two assists.

As a team, the Huskies made 27 of 66 shots from the field (40.9%), were 8 for 28 from three-point range (28.6%), and converted 11 of 14 chances at the free throw line (78.6%). Rebounds were even at 35 apiece with Tech scoring 20 points off of 17 Lewis turnovers. Meanwhile, the Huskies had just six miscues in Saturday's win.

Rachel Hinders had a game high 20 points for Lewis followed by Black with 14 points and Kaitlyn Williams with 12 points. Hinders and Black each had double-doubles with 11 and 10 rebounds respectively. Black also dished out a game high five assists. The Flyers found the target on 25 of 56 shots from the field (44.6%), were 3 for 12 from behind the arc (25.0%), and 10 of 14 from the free throw line (71.4%).

The Huskies will close the weekend Sunday afternoon when they play William Jewell for the first time in program history in game two of the GLIAC/GLVC Crossover Tournament hosted by Lewis. The tip-off is slated for 2 p.m. eastern time.