Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 vs. Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final
53 Grand Valley State
35 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
44 Davenport
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
55 Michigan Tech
53 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
40 Northwood
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
72 Michigan Tech
53 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
46 Michigan Tech
75 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
55 Northern Michigan
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Tue Mar 05
Final
48 Northwood
78 vs. Michigan Tech
GLIAC Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 09
Final
61 Michigan Tech
77 vs. Ashland
@ Allendale, Mich. GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Oct 24
Final
41 Michigan Tech
54 at Wis.-Green Bay
Exhibition
Fri Nov 01
Final
49 Finlandia
98 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 09
Final
73 Michigan Tech
63 at Lewis
GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Sun Nov 10
Final
71 Michigan Tech
75 vs. William Jewell
@ Romeoville, Ill. GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Fri Nov 15
Final
61 Michigan Tech
65 vs. St. Cloud State
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 16
Final
50 Michigan Tech
76 at MSU-Moorhead
Mon Nov 18
Final
80 Michigan Tech
75 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 22
Final
65 Concordia-St. Paul
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 24
Final
69 Minnesota Duluth
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 05
Final
60 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 07
12:00 PM
Northwood
vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 15
1:00 PM
Northern Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 02
5:30 PM
Wayne State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 04
1:00 PM
Ashland
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 09
6:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Thu Jan 16
5:30 PM
Lake Superior State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 18
1:00 PM
Ferris State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 23
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Jan 25
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Thu Jan 30
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 01
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Feb 06
5:30 PM
Purdue Northwest
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 08
12:00 PM
Parkside
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 13
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Feb 15
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 20
5:30 PM
Davenport
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Grand Valley State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 27
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Clinch GLIAC North Title with 60-55 Win over NMU

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team closed out the 2018-19 regular season with a 60-55 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference victory over rival Northern Michigan Thursday night in the SDC Gym. The Huskies claimed their 16th GLIAC North/Conference title and locked down the No.3 seed in the conference tournament which begins on Tuesday against the No. 6 seed Northwood.

"I'm so happy for our team and players," Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "They deserve this championship and have worked hard and grown so much throughout this year. That hard work showed tonight and for our team to step up and get this win on Senior Night was pretty incredible. It's really nice that we are able to host a quarterfinal game because it gives us such an advantage with the support from the fans that we have here. We need to rest up a bit and then we'll get back to work to prepare to face a very good Northwood team Tuesday."

Northern Michigan (20-8, 15-5 GLIAC) jumped out to an early lead Thursday night when Elizabeth Lutz fired in a triple in the opening minute of the first half. Neither side scored on their next possessions, but following a Wildcat turnover, junior Abbie Botz put Michigan Tech (20-8, 16-4 GLIAC) on the board to make it a 3-2 score with 8:13 to play in the first quarter.

The Huskies then pulled even at 5-5 on a triple by senior Elizabeth Kelliher before a trey from Northern Michigan's Erin Honkala gave the Wildcats the edge again at 8-5. Tech junior Ellie Welsh knotted the game again at 11-11 on a three pointer of her own and from there the two sides continued to exchange point for point through the end of the first quarter. Botz generated the final basket of the period for the Huskies to send the contest into the second frame tied at 13-13.

The Huskies began to shift the momentum in their favor with five consecutive points to begin the second quarter. Kelliher provided a conventional three-point play out of the gate and then freshman Ellie Mackay made her way to the free throw line after a Northern Michigan foul. Mackay sighted in both attempts at the charity stripe, building the Huskies lead to 18-13 with 7:46 to play in the first half.

The Wildcats broke their mini scoring drought when Darby Youngstrom came up with a conventional three-point play of her own to make it 18-16. However, the Huskies defense kept the Wildcats from putting a run together and over the course of the final minutes of the half created an eight-point separation at 31-23. Two free throws from sophomore Cassidy Trotter were the catalyst that gave the Huskies their biggest lead of the game at that point.

Amber Huebner briefly pulled the Wildcats back to within six points at 31-25 with 1:36 to play until the intermission before freshman Sloane Zenner reclaimed the eight-point edge just prior the end of the second quarter. Zenner intercepted a pass near the timeline and went to the basket for a layup a couple seconds before the horn, giving Tech a 33-25 advantage with 20 minutes in the books.

The Wildcats struck quickly with four points to begin the third period and sliced the gap to 33-29. The Huskies bumped it back to eight points at 37-29 on a Botz layup with 5:50 on the clock, but Northern Michigan countered again to draw to within three at 37-34 via a layup by Schultz with 3:45 left. Botz then moved the Huskies' advantage out to 10 points at 44-34 on a layup with 1:40 left in the third. However, the Wildcats would not go away quietly and closed the quarter with a conventional three-point play by Youngstrom, making it a 46-40 ballgame with 10 minutes left.

The Wildcats kept inching closer throughout the fourth quarter and eventually regained the lead at 53-51 on a layup by Schultz with 3:07 left. Trotter then stepped up for the Huskies and connected on what would arguably be the shot of the night. Trotter lined up a triple from the top of the key on the ensuing possession, vaulting the Huskies ahead once again 54-53. Welsh followed with a layup and from there Tech held off Northern Michigan for the 60-55 victory.

Four Huskies produced 10 or more points in Thursday's game, powered by Botz and Mackay with 12 points each. Botz reeled in 10 rebounds for her sixth double-double of the year. Kelliher followed with 11 points while adding three more blocked shots to her season totals. Kelliher is also just 17 points shy of reaching 1,000 career points going into the postseason. Welsh rounded out the double digit scorers with 10 points and distributed a team high four assists in the victory.

As a team, the Huskies made 20 of 45 shots from the field (44.4%), were 7 for 11 from behind the arc (63.6%), and 13 of 16 at the charity stripe (81.3%). Tech outscored Northern Michigan 24-18 in the paint and produced 28 points off of 23 Wildcat miscues.

Northern Michigan was led by Amber Huebner off the bench with a game high 17 points followed by Youngstrom with 16 points and a team best nine rebounds. Schultz finished with eight points and added three assist and three steals to the stat sheet. The Wildcats were successful on 18 of 37 shots from the field (48.6%), were 6 for 10 from three-point range (60.0%), and 13 for 13 at the free throw line (100.0%).

The Huskies are the No. 3 seed in the GLIAC Tournament and will host Northwood University Tuesday night in the quarterfinal round. Tech won both meetings with the Timberwolves during the regular season, 78-68 in Midland and 70-40 in Houghton. Tuesday's game is slated for 5:30 p.m. eastern time.