No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 vs. Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final
53 Grand Valley State
35 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
44 Davenport
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
55 Michigan Tech
53 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
40 Northwood
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
72 Michigan Tech
53 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
46 Michigan Tech
75 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
55 Northern Michigan
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Tue Mar 05
Final
48 Northwood
78 vs. Michigan Tech
GLIAC Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 09
Final
61 Michigan Tech
77 vs. Ashland
@ Allendale, Mich. GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Oct 24
Final
41 Michigan Tech
54 at Wis.-Green Bay
Exhibition
Fri Nov 01
Final
49 Finlandia
98 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 09
Final
73 Michigan Tech
63 at Lewis
GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Sun Nov 10
Final
71 Michigan Tech
75 vs. William Jewell
@ Romeoville, Ill. GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Fri Nov 15
Final
61 Michigan Tech
65 vs. St. Cloud State
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 16
Final
50 Michigan Tech
76 at MSU-Moorhead
Mon Nov 18
Final
80 Michigan Tech
75 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 22
Final
65 Concordia-St. Paul
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 24
Final
69 Minnesota Duluth
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 05
Final
60 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 07
Final
46 Northwood
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 15
1:00 PM
Northern Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 02
5:30 PM
Wayne State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 04
1:00 PM
Ashland
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 09
6:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Thu Jan 16
5:30 PM
Lake Superior State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 18
1:00 PM
Ferris State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 23
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Jan 25
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Thu Jan 30
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 01
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Feb 06
5:30 PM
Purdue Northwest
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 08
12:00 PM
Parkside
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 13
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Feb 15
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 20
5:30 PM
Davenport
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Grand Valley State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 27
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
View Full Schedule

Huskies Fall at Grand Valley State 75-46 Saturday

Ellie Mackay shooting a basket

ALLENDALE, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team had a nine game winning streak come to a close Saturday afternoon in a 75-46 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference loss at No. 11 Grand Valley State University. The Huskies are tied once again for first place in the GLIAC North Division standings with Northern Michigan and will face the Wildcats Thursday night at home.

"Grand Valley State shot the ball really well in the first half and we were unable to recover from the early deficit," Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "I thought we did a good job taking away Cassidy Boensch and Jenn DeBoer, but everyone else stepped up for them which is what the top teams in the country are able to do. I thought we came out in the second half and competed really hard while bringing a lot of energy to the court. Our players didn't give up and they always play hard, which I'm very proud of."

Michigan Tech (19-8, 15-4 GLIAC) recorded the first basket of the afternoon when sophomore Cassidy Trotter freed up some open space for a successful jumper to make it a 2-0 score 29 seconds into Saturday's game. Grand Valley State (25-2, 18-1 GLIAC), ranked 11th in the latest WBCA Top 25 Coaches' Poll, knotted the contest at 2-2 when Cassidy Boensch worked her way into the lane for a layup with just over nine minutes to go in the first half.

The Boensch bucket sparked a 12-0 scoring run, which the Huskies were unable to counter. Natalie Koenig capped the scoring burst with a triple at the 5:23 mark of the first quarter. Freshman Ellie Mackay then broke the drought on offense for Tech with 4:30 remaining in the first frame, slicing the gap to 12-4.

The Lakers kept Tech from gaining any momentum though as Maddie Dailey dialed in a three-point basket to increase the lead back out to double digits again at 15-4 with 3:51 on the clock. The Huskies were able to record four of the final six points in the opening period to stay within striking distance at 17-8 when the buzzer sounded. Trotter notched the points for the Huskies with just 16 seconds remaining.

However, the Lakers answered the Huskies with six points out of the gate to kick off the second quarter and set the tone for the rest of the half. Brooke McKinley sighted in a three-point basket and a conventional three-point play courtesy of Boensch increased Grand Valley State's lead to 23-8 with 8:18 left until the intermission. The Lakers would go on to outscore the Huskies 25-7 in the second quarter and carry a 42-15 advantage into the locker room at halftime.

The Huskies were able to limit the Lakers to 13 points in the third quarter and then outscore them 22-20 in the fourth period for some positive momentum going into Thursday's game against Northern Michigan. Trailing 59-24 with 8:12 to play in the fourth, Mackay and senior Elizabeth Kelliher teamed up for back to back layups. Mackay dialed in a triple at the 5:53 mark and some late three-point baskets were added by junior Ellie Welsh and junior Hannah Hobson as well.

Welsh and Hobson guided the Huskies with nine points apiece Saturday afternoon followed by Trotter with eight points and seven rebounds. Mackay and junior Abbie Botz chipped in seven points each, Kelliher tacked on four points, and senior Isabella O'Brien had two points. Hobson was the top rebounder on the club Saturday with eight boards, Mackay distributed three assists, and Kelliher blocked three shots.

The Huskies converted on 19 of 55 shots from the field (34.5%), were 6 of 20 from behind the arc (30.0%), and 2 for 2 at the free throw line (100.0%). Tech had a total of 33 rebounds and 18 points in the paint.

Koenig delivered a game high 20 points for the Lakers' offense followed by Taya Andrews with 16 points off the bench. Dailey contributed 13 points and Boensch wrapped up the contest with a double-double on the strength of 10 points and 12 rebounds. The Lakers closed the afternoon making 25 of 61 shots from the floor (41.0%), were 11 for 28 from long distance (39.3%), and 14 of 17 on opportunities at the free throw line (82.4%). Grand Valley State hauled down 41 rebounds and had 22 points in the paint Saturday.

The Huskies will look to bounce back Thursday night in the 2018-19 regular season finale at home against rival Northern Michigan on Senior Day. The Wildcats defeated Davenport 64-42 on Saturday to pull even with the Huskies in the GLIAC North Division standings. The tip-off is slated for 5:30 p.m. eastern time.