No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 vs. Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final
53 Grand Valley State
35 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
44 Davenport
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
55 Michigan Tech
53 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
40 Northwood
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
72 Michigan Tech
53 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
46 Michigan Tech
75 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
55 Northern Michigan
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Tue Mar 05
Final
48 Northwood
78 vs. Michigan Tech
GLIAC Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 09
Final
61 Michigan Tech
77 vs. Ashland
@ Allendale, Mich. GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Oct 24
Final
41 Michigan Tech
54 at Wis.-Green Bay
Exhibition
Fri Nov 01
Final
49 Finlandia
98 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 09
Final
73 Michigan Tech
63 at Lewis
GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Sun Nov 10
Final
71 Michigan Tech
75 vs. William Jewell
@ Romeoville, Ill. GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Fri Nov 15
Final
61 Michigan Tech
65 vs. St. Cloud State
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 16
Final
50 Michigan Tech
76 at MSU-Moorhead
Mon Nov 18
Final
80 Michigan Tech
75 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 22
Final
65 Concordia-St. Paul
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 24
Final
69 Minnesota Duluth
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 05
Final
60 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 07
Final
46 Northwood
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 15
1:00 PM
Northern Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 02
5:30 PM
Wayne State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 04
1:00 PM
Ashland
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 09
6:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Thu Jan 16
5:30 PM
Lake Superior State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 18
1:00 PM
Ferris State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 23
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Jan 25
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Thu Jan 30
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 01
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Feb 06
5:30 PM
Purdue Northwest
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 08
12:00 PM
Parkside
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 13
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Feb 15
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 20
5:30 PM
Davenport
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Grand Valley State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 27
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
View Full Schedule

Huskies Drop 65-51 Decision to #20 Lewis

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team fell to No. 20 Lewis University Saturday afternoon in a non-conference contest 65-51 in the SDC Gym. The Huskies battled back from a slow start to tie the game 42-42 late in the third quarter, but the Flyers regrouped quickly and pulled away with an 18-7 scoring advantage in the fourth frame.

"It was a tough loss against a very good team today," Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "I'm really proud of the way our girls competed. Every time Lewis made a run we were able to counter with one of our own by getting some big stops defensively. I thought our defensive execution in this game was one of the best that we've had this year, so I was really proud of that. We need to do a better job of hitting shots and finishing on the offensive end of the floor.

"We have a pretty quick turnaround Wednesday as we head to Minnesota Duluth, who is a similar team to Lewis. They have a good post player and some super athletic guards that can shoot. They are a very balanced team so it will be another good challenge. It will be good to see how we can grow and apply the things that we learned from our game today against Lewis in Wednesday's game."

Lewis (7-1) jumped out of the gate Saturday afternoon with a quick 7-0 run to establish a foothold and the lead. Kaitlyn Williams sank a three-point bucket with just under seven minutes to go in the first quarter to cap the run. Michigan Tech (6-5) got on the board at the 6:26 mark of first when junior Ellie Welsh found the bottom of the net from long distance to cut the deficit for the Huskies to 7-3.

The Huskies then drew to within three at 9-6 on another triple by Welsh with just over five minutes to go in the first. Tech stayed within four to five points for the majority of the final minutes in the first, but Morgan Glatczak connected on a jumper right before the buzzer to make it a 15-9 contest going into the second period.

Stephanie Hart boosted the Flyers advantage to 18-9 just over a minute into the second quarter on another three-point bucket and then at the 5:51 junctureHart put Lewis up 23-11 on a layup. The Huskies were able to close the gap to six points at 26-20 on a layup courtesy of freshman Sloane Zenner with 2:57 on the clock, but Lewis would eventually carry a 33-24 lead into the locker room at halftime.

After trailing by double digits through the first four minutes of the third period, the Huskies found a rhythm on offense and defense to get themselves right back into the game. Sophomore Cassidy Trotter drilled a triple to get the run going after the possession was kept alive on a pair of offensive rebounds. Trotter then drove to the basket for a layup and with a free throw following a foul. The conventional three-point play made it a 40-34 score with 5:32 to go in the third.

Following two Lewis free throws, Welsh connected on a trey from downtown and then she sliced the deficit to 42-38 at the charity stripe with 4:22 remaining in the third. As the defense continued to come up with stops, Trotter and freshman Ellie Mackay teamed up with layups on the offensive end of the floor to knot the score at 42-42 with less than a minute to play in the third.

Tech and Lewis traded baskets on the ensuing possessions, but the Flyers would end up getting the last look at the basket before the buzzer sounded. Rachel Hinders sent some of the momentum back to Lewis with a triple to close the period and give the Flyers a 47-44 edge. Lewis then knocked down the first two attempts of the fourth quarter to push the lead out to 51-44. Junior Hannah Hobson briefly made it a four-point game again at 51-47 thanks to a triple, but the Flyers reeled off a 13-0 run over the next six minutes to put the game out of reach.

Welsh matched a season and career high with 15 points to power the Huskies' offense on Saturday afternoon. Welsh was 5 for 5 from the field and a perfect 4 for 4 from three-point land. Trotter followed with 12 points, three assists, and five steals while junior Abbie Botz chipped in four points and grabbed a team high nine rebounds.

As a team, the Huskies connected on 20 of 56 shots from the field (35.7%), were 7 of 19 from behind the arc (36.8%), and 4 of 5 on opportunities at the free throw line (80.0%). The Huskies created 18 points off of 14 Lewis turnovers in the contest.

Jessica Kelliher guided the Flyers' attack with 23 points followed by Gabby Green with 13 points and Tierney Lockett with 12 points. Kelliher hauled down a team high eight rebounds and blocked two shots. Green came up with four steals and dished out four assists. Lewis out-rebounded the Huskies 40-31 and scored 30 of their points in the paint.

The Huskies will look to bounce back on Wednesday when they head to Minnesota Duluth for a non-conference contest prior to the Holiday Break. The tip-off is scheduled for 2 p.m. eastern time.