Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 vs. Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final
53 Grand Valley State
35 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
44 Davenport
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
55 Michigan Tech
53 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
40 Northwood
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
72 Michigan Tech
53 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
46 Michigan Tech
75 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
55 Northern Michigan
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Tue Mar 05
Final
48 Northwood
78 vs. Michigan Tech
GLIAC Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 09
Final
61 Michigan Tech
77 vs. Ashland
@ Allendale, Mich. GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Oct 24
Final
41 Michigan Tech
54 at Wis.-Green Bay
Exhibition
Fri Nov 01
Final
49 Finlandia
98 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 09
Final
73 Michigan Tech
63 at Lewis
GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Sun Nov 10
Final
71 Michigan Tech
75 vs. William Jewell
@ Romeoville, Ill. GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Fri Nov 15
Final
61 Michigan Tech
65 vs. St. Cloud State
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 16
Final
50 Michigan Tech
76 at MSU-Moorhead
Mon Nov 18
Final
80 Michigan Tech
75 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 22
Final
65 Concordia-St. Paul
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 24
Final
69 Minnesota Duluth
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 05
Final
60 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 07
12:00 PM
Northwood
vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 15
1:00 PM
Northern Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 02
5:30 PM
Wayne State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 04
1:00 PM
Ashland
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 09
6:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Thu Jan 16
5:30 PM
Lake Superior State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 18
1:00 PM
Ferris State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 23
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Jan 25
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Thu Jan 30
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 01
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Feb 06
5:30 PM
Purdue Northwest
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 08
12:00 PM
Parkside
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 13
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Feb 15
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 20
5:30 PM
Davenport
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Grand Valley State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 27
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Power Past Ursuline 96-65 in Season Opener

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team tipped-off the 2018-19 regular season Friday night in Big Rapids, Michigan with an impressive 96-65 non-conference victory over Ursuline College. The Huskies had an impressive preseason with two exhibition wins and didn't miss a beat, pulling away from the Arrows with a 30-13 third quarter run.

"We started off a little bit slow, but it was nice to see our girls handle the adversity," Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "We struggled against the zone and were settling for three point attempts early. Once we started moving the ball inside, getting to the high post, penetrating to the basket, and scoring in transition I thought we settled in and looked a lot better. We have to get some good rest tonight and be ready to face a good Davis & Elkins team tomorrow."

Junior Abbie Botz recorded the first basket of the year by getting to the rim for a layup on Michigan Tech's (1-0) opening possession Friday night. The Huskies scored 42 points in the paint last week in the exhibition at Eastern Michigan and immediately attacked the middle in the first quarter. Ursuline (0-1) tied the contest 2-2 on a layup by Sarah Lairson on the ensuing trip down the floor, but the Huskies would answer with the next two buckets to go up by four.

Junior Baillie McGirk dropped in a pair of layups on her way to a career high 29 points to make it a 6-2 score. Junior Ellie Welsh and sophomore Cassidy Trotter dealt out assists on the baskets. A Welsh triple then expanded Tech's lead to 12-5 with 6:11 remaining in the first period, but the Arrows would counter with a 10-2 scoring run to slip in front. A conventional three-point play Bekah Green gave Ursuline its first lead of the evening at 15-14 with 3:40 on the clock.

A scoring drought for both offenses ensued until the final seconds of the opening frame. McGirk was able to rebound her own missed shot and right before the buzzer sounded, cashed in a layup with just four seconds left in the quarter. Thanks to McGirk's basket, the Huskies carried a 16-15 edge into the second quarter.

The Huskies notched the first three points of the second period on a free throw from senior Elizabeth Kelliher and a mid-range jumper courtesy of Botz to make it 19-15. However, the Arrows bounced back with an 8-0 run to move in front for the second time Friday night. Kaylin Burdick dialed in a triple at the 6:19 mark of the quarter and suddenly Ursuline had a 23-19 edge.

The Huskies called a 30 second timeout to regroup and from there took control for the rest of the quarter. Tech reeled off nine straight points to erase the deficit and create a 28-23 cushion following a McGirk three-pointer with just under five minutes to go until the break. The Arrows stayed within single digits until junior Hannah Hobson found the target on a mid-range jumper to make it 37-27 with 3:28 showing on the second quarter clock.

The teams essentially traded baskets down the stretch with McGirk closing the first half for Tech with a conventional three-point play. The layup and subsequent free throw gave the Huskies a 46-36 advantage going into the locker room at halftime.

The Huskies really took off in the third quarter and set the tone for the rest of the night in the opening minutes. Kelliher grabbed a defensive rebound for Tech and on the other end of the floor, Trotter found her inside for layup to get the offense rolling. Botz followed that up with two more points in the paint and then Kelliher capped a quick 6-0 run with another layup to make it a 52-36 lead with 7:17 remaining in the third.

Just over two minutes later, the Huskies created a 61-40 gap between themselves and the Arrows via a triple from Botz. By the time the third quarter came to an end, the Huskies were in complete control of the contest. Freshman Jordan Ludescher lifted in a mid-range jumper for Tech's 76th point of the night and with three quarters in the books, the lead stood at 76-49. The Huskies added four more points of separation in the final 10 minutes on their way to the 96-65 decision.

McGirk powered the Huskies with a career high 29 points, connecting on 11 of 16 shots from the field, including all three of her attempts from behind the arc. She also contributed four rebounds, four assists, three steals, and one blocked shot. Ludescher dropped in 15 points and grabbed a team high eight rebounds off the bench followed by Botz and Kelliher with 13 points apiece. It was a new career high for Botz who also chipped in with four assist and four rebounds. Freshman Ellie Mackay just missed double digits in points with eight Friday night.

As a team, Michigan Tech knocked down 37 of 74 shots from the field (50.0%), converted 10 of 25 opportunities from three-point land (40.0%), and 12 of 19 chances at the free throw line (63.2%). The Huskies had a solid advantage in rebounding at 45-35, recorded 28 points off 24 Ursuline turnovers, and outscored the Arrows 40-30 in the paint. Head Coach Sam Hoyt also earned her first career coaching victory.

Jennah Taylor led Ursuline with 12 points followed by Julia Cardwell with 11 points and a team high seven rebounds. Green, Lairson, and Ky Crevison tacked on 10 points apiece for the Arrows, with Green dealing out five assists. Ursuline was on the mark with 23 of 57 shots from the field (40.4%), were 5 of 12 from three-point range (41.7%), and 14 of 19 at the charity stripe (73.7%).

The Huskies are back on the court in Big Rapids Saturday afternoon at 1 p.m. eastern time to battle Davis & Elkins in game two of opening weekend.