Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 vs. Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final
53 Grand Valley State
35 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
44 Davenport
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
55 Michigan Tech
53 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
40 Northwood
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
72 Michigan Tech
53 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
46 Michigan Tech
75 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
55 Northern Michigan
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Tue Mar 05
Final
48 Northwood
78 vs. Michigan Tech
GLIAC Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 09
Final
61 Michigan Tech
77 vs. Ashland
@ Allendale, Mich. GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Oct 24
Final
41 Michigan Tech
54 at Wis.-Green Bay
Exhibition
Fri Nov 01
Final
49 Finlandia
98 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 09
Final
73 Michigan Tech
63 at Lewis
GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Sun Nov 10
Final
71 Michigan Tech
75 vs. William Jewell
@ Romeoville, Ill. GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Fri Nov 15
Final
61 Michigan Tech
65 vs. St. Cloud State
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 16
Final
50 Michigan Tech
76 at MSU-Moorhead
Mon Nov 18
Final
80 Michigan Tech
75 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 22
Final
65 Concordia-St. Paul
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 24
Final
69 Minnesota Duluth
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 05
Final
60 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 07
12:00 PM
Northwood
vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 15
1:00 PM
Northern Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 02
5:30 PM
Wayne State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 04
1:00 PM
Ashland
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 09
6:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Thu Jan 16
5:30 PM
Lake Superior State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 18
1:00 PM
Ferris State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 23
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Jan 25
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Thu Jan 30
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 01
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Feb 06
5:30 PM
Purdue Northwest
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 08
12:00 PM
Parkside
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 13
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Feb 15
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 20
5:30 PM
Davenport
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Grand Valley State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 27
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Suffer 71-69 Loss to Wayne State

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team fell to Wayne State Thursday night 71-69 in a Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference contest at the SDC Gym. The Huskies rallied late in the fourth quarter to tie the game, but two free throws in the final 10 seconds by the Warriors proved to be the difference.

"It was a tough game for us, but I thought we gave everything we had tonight," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kim Cameron said. "I thought our players played extremely hard all the way to the end and gave ourselves a chance late in the fourth quarter. Unfortunately, we were one play short and ran out of time.

"Kelli [Guy] had a great game tonight and is stepping up the way she is capable of. We needed her leadership and without Brenna [Heise] tonight she took on that leadership role. It was an awesome game for her reaching 1,000 career points and I'm really proud of what she was able to do tonight."

When both teams met earlier in the season the defenses dominated and that was the scenario in the first quarter. Michigan Tech (22-4, 16-3 GLIAC) and Wayne State (19-6, 14-5 GLIAC) traded baskets throughout the quarter with the teams combining for just 21 points. The largest lead for either side was three points at 11-8 in favor of the Warriors following a pair of free throws by Shannon Wilson with 22 seconds on the clock. Senior Kelli Guy, who would go on to record a career high 30 points and surpass 1,000 career points, sank a jumper to pull the Huskies to within one at 11-10 going into the second.

Guy's bucket sparked a 7-0 scoring run that led to a 15-11 advantage for Tech at the 8:54 mark. It was a three-point bucket by Guy that capped the run with junior Elizabeth Kelliher notching a layup to begin the second quarter, accounting for the other two points during that stretch.

Guy dialed in a trey from long distance a couple of minutes later to push the advantage to five points at 20-15, but Wayne State countered with nine unanswered to go back in front 24-20 with 1:35 remaining in the half. The teams traded baskets again in the final 90 seconds with senior Hannah Stoll closing the half on a layup to draw Tech to within two points at 26-24 going into the intermission.

The Huskies pulled back in front 30-28 on a Stoll layup with just over six minutes to go in the third quarter and then led 34-33 with 3:10 on the clock. However, another late quarter charge by the Warriors generated a 43-37 lead with 25 seconds left in the third. On the final possession of the quarter, Guy answered Wilson's three-pointer with a trey of her own to bring the Huskies to within three points at 43-40 going into the fourth.

Wayne State maintained the edge until Guy tied the game at 52-52 with 6:24 to go. The Warriors kept the Huskies from slipping back in front and built their largest lead of the game at 64-57 on two Wilson free throws with 1:05 to play.

The Huskies battled back though with Guy, Kelliher, and junior Michelle LaFave leading the charge offensively to tie the game for the ninth time at 69-69. Guy recorded six points, Kelliher notched four, and LaFave dropped in the game tying basket with 13 seconds left. The Warriors regained the lead 70-69 on a free throw, but Tech was unable to score on the ensuing possession which led to a second free throw for Wayne State with two seconds to go, resulting in the 71-69 final.

Guy led all scorers Thursday night with a career high 30 points after firing in 10 of 13 shots from the field, including 7 of 8 makes from behind the three-point arc. Guy's previous career best was 25 points which she has accomplished twice. The most recent came in the second game of the season at Ursuline College on November 11th. Guy surpassed 1,000 career points and joins 23 other Tech players in the 1,000 career point club with 1,014 going into Saturday's game against Davenport.

Stoll had a solid night for the Huskies as well with 16 points followed by LaFave who added 11 points. Kelliher chipped in eight points and led the team with 10 rebounds while sophomore Baillie McGirk dished out a career high seven assists.

As a team, Tech connected on 27 of 63 shots from the field (42.9%), were 8 of 16 from three-point range (50.0%), and 7 of 8 at the free throw line (87.5%). The Huskies also had the edge in rebounding 35-31 over Wayne State.

Nastassja Chambers paced the Warriors with 23 points followed by Wilson with 21 points and six assists. Payton Birchmeier rounded out the double digit scorers for Wayne State with 15 points and a team high seven rebounds. Wayne State closed the game making 23 of 50 shots from the field (46.0%), were 3 of 11 from behind the three-point arc (27.3%), and were 22 of 28 from the free throw line (78.6%).

The Huskies will close the regular season on Saturday when they host Davenport in the SDC at 3 p.m. It will also be Senior Day and following the game, Tech will cut down the nets to recognize the team for this year's GLIAC North Division Championship.