No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 vs. Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
57 at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
Final
58 Michigan Tech
80 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
62 Michigan Tech
46 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
37 Ferris State
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
40 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final
53 Grand Valley State
35 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
44 Davenport
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
55 Michigan Tech
53 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
40 Northwood
70 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
63 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
67 Michigan Tech
49 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
72 Michigan Tech
53 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
46 Michigan Tech
75 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
55 Northern Michigan
60 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Tue Mar 05
Final
48 Northwood
78 vs. Michigan Tech
GLIAC Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 09
Final
61 Michigan Tech
77 vs. Ashland
@ Allendale, Mich. GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Oct 24
Final
41 Michigan Tech
54 at Wis.-Green Bay
Exhibition
Fri Nov 01
Final
49 Finlandia
98 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 09
Final
73 Michigan Tech
63 at Lewis
GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Sun Nov 10
Final
71 Michigan Tech
75 vs. William Jewell
@ Romeoville, Ill. GLVC/GLIAC CROSSOVER
Fri Nov 15
Final
61 Michigan Tech
65 vs. St. Cloud State
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 16
Final
50 Michigan Tech
76 at MSU-Moorhead
Mon Nov 18
Final
80 Michigan Tech
75 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 22
Final
65 Concordia-St. Paul
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 24
Final
69 Minnesota Duluth
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 05
Final
60 Saginaw Valley State
59 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 07
Final
46 Northwood
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 15
1:00 PM
Northern Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 02
5:30 PM
Wayne State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 04
1:00 PM
Ashland
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 09
6:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Thu Jan 16
5:30 PM
Lake Superior State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 18
1:00 PM
Ferris State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 23
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Jan 25
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Thu Jan 30
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 01
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Feb 06
5:30 PM
Purdue Northwest
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 08
12:00 PM
Parkside
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 13
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Feb 15
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 20
5:30 PM
Davenport
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Grand Valley State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 27
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
View Full Schedule

Huskies Shutdown Saginaw Valley State in GLIAC Opener

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team opened Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference play Thursday night with a 59-37 victory over Saginaw Valley State University in the SDC Wood Gym. The Huskies set the tone defensively in the first quarter, limiting the Cardinals to four points while permitting just 11 successful field goals during the 40 minutes.

"I'm really happy with our defensive effort tonight," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kim Cameron said. "When we are not shooting well, especially from three-point range, it's important to make sure that nobody goes on any offensive runs against us. We've talked about getting consecutive stops and making sure that if we don't score, they don't score.

"We are working on focusing on one stop at a time and one score, and I thought we did a good job of paying attention to that tonight. We set the tone in the first quarter by holding them to four points. I'm proud of our team for doing that because defense was our emphasis all week and we were able to do it well."

Michigan Tech (7-1, 1-0 GLIAC) never trailed on Thursday night although it took both offenses some time to get going in the first quarter. The Huskies struck for the first two points of the night on a layup by senior Kelli Guy at the 6:47 mark of the quarter. Senior Brenna Heise then gave Tech a two possession advantage at 4-0 on a jumper less than a minute later.

Saginaw Valley State (0-7, 0-1 GLIAC) generated its first points of the night on a layup by Anna Hall with 5:38 to play in the first. Michigan Tech went on to score six of the final eight points in the quarter, culminating on a Heise layup that gave the Huskies a 10-4 edge going into the second period.

Michigan Tech began to create some separation in the second quarter thanks to a 13-4 scoring run to get things rolling. Hannah Settingsgaard dropped in the first two points of the quarter for the Cardinals, but then it was all Tech during the next four and a half minutes. Senior Lindsay Winter drove to the bucket for a layup to open the run followed by a pair of field goals from senior Hannah Stoll.

Winter, Heise, and sophomore Baillie McGirk combined for the next seven points to extend the Huskies' advantage into double digits for the first time at 23-10 with 4:30 left in the second quarter. McGirk came up with a big steal to help setup up a triple by Heise and a blocked shot and defensive rebound from sophomore Hannah Hobson helped lead to Winter's layup.

Michigan Tech created a 25-16 gap by the time the buzzer sounded ending the second quarter. The Huskies, who changed the complexion of the contest Saturday at Concordia St. Paul in the third quarter, repeated the feat Thursday against the Cardinals. Tech pulled away from SVSU by reeling off 19 of the 26 total points in the period.

The Cardinals got a triple from Laurel Jacqmain to begin the second half and draw within six points at 25-19. However, the Huskies would post 13 unanswered points over a five-minute span to take control of the game. Winter found junior Elizabeth Kelliher with a pass into the paint for a layup followed by a trey from Heise. Defensively, Kelliher blocked a key shot and Heise came up with a steal during the 13-0 stretch which culminated on a jumper from Stoll, making it a 38-19 score with just over four minutes to play in the third.

The Huskies led 44-23 after three quarters and went up by as many as 24 points twice during the fourth period. Hobson sank two free throws with 6:05 to go in the fourth, which bumped the lead to 49-25, and from there the Cardinals could get no closer than 18 points the rest of the way.

Heise powered the Huskies with 20 points and eight rebounds Thursday night as she was on target with 9 of 14 shots from the field. Stoll followed with 10 points thanks to a 5 of 8 shooting night from the field. Winter chipped in eight points and three assists along with freshman Cassidy Trotter who tossed in eight points as well. Kelliher had four points, five rebounds, and added four more blocked shots to her season totals, giving her 19 on the year.

As a team, the Huskies connected on 25 of 53 shots from the field (47.2%), were 2 of 11 from three-point range (18.2%), and 7 of 9 at the free throw line (77.8%). Tech also had a slight rebounding edge at 38-36 and registered eight more blocked shots.

Jacqmain had a team high 12 points for the Cardinals while Kierra Crockett hauled down six rebounds. Tech's defense limited Saginaw Valley State to just 11 successful shots from the field out of 52 attempts (21.2%) and forced 14 turnovers which led to 13 points.

The Huskies will be back in action on Saturday when they host Northwood in another GLIAC contest in the SDC. The Timberwolves got past Northern Michigan Thursday night 64-56. Saturday's tip-off is slated for 1 p.m.