No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 vs. Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 vs. Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
39 UW-Stout
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
50 Winona State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
Final
44 Michigan Tech
67 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
54 Michigan Tech
67 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
61 Ferris State
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
75 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final - OT
87 Grand Valley State
91 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
77 Davenport
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
59 Michigan Tech
63 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
74 Michigan Tech
82 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
83 Northwood
73 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
75 Saginaw Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
71 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
53 Michigan Tech
79 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
59 Michigan Tech
72 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
53 Michigan Tech
71 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
74 Northern Michigan
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Sat Nov 09
Final
78 Michigan Tech
73 at McKendree
GLVC/GLIAC Challenge
Sun Nov 10
Final
54 Lewis
63 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Lebanon, Ill. GLVC/GLIAC Challenge
Sun Nov 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
62 at Winona State
Sat Nov 23
Final
85 Minnesota Duluth
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 29
Final
83 Michigan Tech
80 at Alaska Anchorage
Seawolf Thanksgiving Classic
Sat Nov 30
Final
65 Michigan Tech
57 vs. Alaska
@ Alaska Airlines Center - Anchorage, AK Seawolf Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Dec 05
Final
57 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 07
Final
59 Northwood
93 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 11
Final
72 Finlandia
119 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 15
3:00 PM
Northern Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 21
1:00 PM
Algoma University (Ontario)
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 02
7:30 PM
Wayne State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 04
3:00 PM
Ashland
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 09
8:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Sat Jan 11
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Thu Jan 16
7:30 PM
Lake Superior State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 18
3:00 PM
Ferris State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 23
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Jan 25
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Thu Jan 30
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 01
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Feb 06
7:30 PM
Purdue Northwest
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 08
2:00 PM
Parkside
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 13
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Feb 15
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 20
7:30 PM
Davenport
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 22
3:00 PM
Grand Valley State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 27
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Have Strong Showing at NCAA Division I UW-Green Bay

Huskies Have Strong Showing at NCAA Division I UW-Green Bay

GREEN BAY, Wis. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team traveled to NCAA Division I UW-Green Bay Thursday night and gave the Phoenix all they could handle in a 94-74 exhibition loss. The Huskies led 40-35 at the break and went up by as many as 14 points in the second half before Green Bay put together a late charge to pull out the win.

"I'm proud of our players and the effort they gave tonight on the road against a solid NCAA Division I program in UW-Green Bay," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "We executed our systems really well throughout the night and had solid contributions from a number of players. However, in the end their athleticism took over and created problems for us in the last few minutes of the game. Overall, it was a good effort by our club and we'll focus on getting better this week as we get set to begin the regular season next weekend against Lewis and McKendree."

After both teams traded a couple of baskets at the outset, the Huskies grabbed their first lead of the night on a triple by senior Bryan Heath to make it a 5-4 score two minutes into the action. Sophomore Dawson Bilski added two more points to Michigan Tech's advantage on a layup when junior Ryan Schuller found him cutting to the basket with 17:33 showing on the first half clock.

Sandy Cohen III briefly tied the game for UW-Green Bay on the ensuing possession, but the Huskies took off from there on a 13-2 scoring run. Heath connected on a triple from downtown followed by a jumper from freshman Jake Witt, two three-pointers by sophomore Isaac Appleby, and a jumper in the paint by Heath to cap the scoring run with 12:40 on the clock.

The Huskies established a 20-8 advantage at that juncture before the Phoenix clawed back to within one at 26-25 on a conventional three-point play by Manny Patterson with just over seven minutes to play until the break. Tech's lead fluctuated back up to seven points at 39-32 with 1:31 left in the first on a free throw from junior Tommy Lucca before the Huskies settled in with a 40-35 edge at the intermission.

The Huskies blasted out of the gate to start the second half and opened up a double digit lead again at 50-40 on a trey from Bilski with 16:56 to go. It quickly grew to 14 points at 54-40 on a Witt midrange jumper just a few seconds later. Cohen III slowed the Huskies down by answering with a three-pointer of his own as UW-Green Bay began to chip away at the gap over the next few minutes.

The Phoenix eventually slipped back in front 61-59 on a layup by Trevian Bell with just over 11 minutes to play, but a free throw courtesy of redshirt freshman Kyle Clow and another three-point basket by Bilski pushed the Huskies back to a 63-61 lead at the 10:20 mark. The two sides then exchanged buckets for three minutes until the Phoenix were able to turn the tide of the contest.

With the score tied 67-67 and 7:20 showing on the clock, Cohen III found the mark again from long range to send Green Bay into the lead. That sparked a 12-0 run that culminated on a pair of free throws by Patterson to make it a 79-67 score with 5:18 remaining in the second half. Unfortunately, the Huskies were unable to bounce back from the scoring burst by Green Bay as the Phoenix eventually pulled away for the 94-74 exhibition win.

Four Tech players had 10 or more points Thursday night, led by Bilski with 20 on an 8 of 12 shooting night from the field. He was 4 for 7 from three-point range, grabbed three rebounds, and dished out three assists. Heath along with Witt followed with 12 points apiece while Appleby rounded out the double digit scorers with 10 points. Witt was Tech's leading rebounder thanks to eight boards in 22 minutes of work on the floor.

As a team, the Huskies connected on 25 of 60 shots from the field (41.7%), were 8 of 22 from behind the three-point arc (36.4%), and 16 of 24 at the free throw line (66.7%). Tech had a solid 42-33 advantage in rebounding, recorded 12 second chance points, and had 24 points in the paint. The reserves posted 36 of Tech's 74 points in Thursday night's showdown with the Phoenix.

Green Bay's Cohen III led all scorers with a game high 28 points followed by JayQuan McCloud with 12 points. ShanQuan Hemphill and Patterson tacked on 10 points apiece with Hemphill pulling down a team high eight rebounds. The Phoenix knocked down 32 of 61 shots from the field (52.5%), were 13 of 25 from long distance (52.0%), and 17 of 28 at the free throw line (60.7%).

The Huskies will tip-off the regular season over in Marquette at the GLIAC/GLVC Challenge against Lewis University next Saturday November 10th at 1 p.m. Tech will then wrap up the weekend on Sunday afternoon against McKendree University at 1 p.m.