Fri Sep 29
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Sep 30
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Fri Oct 06
5:00 PM
Ashland
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 07
4:00 PM
Tiffin
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 13
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Midwest Regional Crossover Tournament
@ Aurora, IL
Sat Oct 14
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Midwest Regional Crossover Tournament
@ Aurora, IL
Fri Oct 20
4:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
4:00 PM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Oct 28
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Nov 04
5:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 10
5:00 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 11
3:00 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Senior Night/Military Appreciation Weekend
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Women's Volleyball

Eight NCAA Appearances 1994 GLIAC Champions

Volleyball Wins a Pair Friday at UW-Parkside Tournament

Volleyball Wins a Pair Friday at UW-Parkside Tournament

SOMERS, Wis. – The Michigan Tech volleyball team defeated Minnesota State Moorhead (3-1) and Upper Iowa (3-2) Friday (Sept. 9) to begin play at the UW-Parkside Tournament. The Huskies are now 3-3 on the season.

"Today we took another step forward as a team," Tech coach Matt Jennings said. "Our offense continues to execute very well in serve receive and is improving in transition, especially out of the middle.

"Rachel was outstanding today, especially late in the second match. She made a huge difference in the outcome and came up with huge plays when we needed them most."

Michigan Tech 3,  Minnesota State Moorhead 1

The Huskies won the first set in extra points (27-25) before the Dragons tied it up before the break (25-19). Tech closed out the match with wins 25-16 and 25-19 in sets three and four.

Aubrey Ficek (16) and MacAulay Petersen (15) led the Huskies in kills, while Mariah Sherman and Lauren Emmert each added 13 kills and hit over .300. Petersen recorded 14 digs and Emmert added six block assists.

Rachel Pohlod had her fifth career 50-assist match and added nine digs, two kills and a block assist. Halie Hart (20) and Elle Heinonen (12) were also in double digits in digs.

Michigan Tech 3, Upper Iowa 2

The Huskies won a five-set thriller over the Peacocks in the evening match with scores 23-25, 25-16, 25-21, 18-25, and 16-14.

Tech had a season-high for kills, digs, assists, and hitting percentage in the match.

Pohlod setup the attack with 52 assists with Ficek (19), Sherman (16), Petersen (14), and Stephanie Dietrich (11) all recording double digit kills.

Hart led the defense with 26 digs while Petersen (18), Pohlod (17), and Kristine Fink (12) also got in double figures.

The Huskies wrap up the tournament against St. Cloud State at 12:30 p.m. and No. 4 Minnesota Duluth at 5 p.m. on Saturday (Sept. 10). SCSU is 2-4 on the season while UMD is 6-0.