Thu Aug 30
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Lawrence Tech
Sat Sep 01
TBA
Michigan Tech
at TBA
Sat Sep 08
TBA
Michigan Tech
at TBA
Fri Sep 14
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ TBA
Sat Sep 15
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ TBA
Sun Sep 16
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ TBA
Sat Sep 22
10:00 AM
Ashland
Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 23
TBA
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Sat Sep 29
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sun Sep 30
11:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Oct 06
10:00 AM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 07
TBA
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 13
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sun Oct 14
12:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Oct 20
TBA
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 26
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ TBA
Sat Oct 27
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ TBA
Sun Oct 28
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ TBA
Fri Feb 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Tiffin
@ Lexington, Ohio Lakewood Racquet Club
Sat Feb 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Hillsdale
Fri Mar 08
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C. (March 8-16)
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Wrap Up Weekend with 8-1 Decision at Lawrence Tech

Huskies Wrap Up Weekend with 8-1 Decision at Lawrence Tech

SOUTHFIELD, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's tennis team closed the opening weekend of the season with an impressive 8-1 win at Lawrence Tech Sunday morning. The Huskies kicked of the season Friday with a 7-2 non-conference win against Lake Superior State and improve to 2-0 on the season with Sunday's win.

"We played a solid match today against a good Lawrence Tech team," Head Coach Kevin Kalinec said. "We played well in doubles which helped us get off to a good start and overall our execution and shots were better. We still have some things to work on, but we made some big improvements from Friday's match to today."

Michigan Tech took two of three points in the doubles portion of the match with the wins coming in the No. 2 and No. 3 spots in the lineup. Vicky Quinde and Ivona Gorgioski teamed up to defeat Carolyn McCullen and Samantha Kohn with a set score of 8-3. Anabella Neri and Allenca Rolim were dominant as well in their 8-2 win over Maria Alvarez and Sarah Burgess.

Lawrence Tach's only point of the day was generated by Sabrina Mateos and Anusha Varudandi in No.1 doubles. Paola Quintana and Sandra Cvetanovic didn't make it easy for them though forcing the set to 9-8 (3) against two very good opponents.

Tech served up wins in all six of the singles contests on Sunday. Quintana got things rolling with a convincing 6-1, 6-1 win over Mateos in the No. 1 position. Gorgioski persevered for a great win over Varudandi 6-4, 4-6 (10-8) to take the second singles point. Gorgioski held on in the first set, but struggled to find a rhythm in the second set. She didn't let that keep her down and held off Varudandi in the tie breaker for the point.

Cvetanovic, Quinde, and Neri all swept their singles contests with scores of 6-0, 6-0 and Natalia Parra Alvarez nearly did the same in the No. 5 position. Alvarez was dominant none the less with a 6-1, 6-0 decision in her favor against Burgess.

The Huskies will be back in action this coming weekend with a trio of road matches in the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference. Tech will face Ashland Friday at 2 p.m., Tiffin on Saturday at 10 a.m., and Wayne State Sunday at 10 a.m.


Michigan Tech 8, Lawrence Tech 1
Sep 10, 2017 at Southfield, Mich. 

Singles competition
1. Paola Quintana (MTUW) def. Sabrina Mateos (LTU) 6-1, 6-1
2. Ivona Gorgioski (MTUW) def. Anusha Varudandi (LTU) 6-4, 4-6, 10-8
3. Sandra Cvetanovic (MTUW) def. Carolyn McCullen (LTU) 6-0, 6-0
4. Vicky Quinde (MTUW) def. Maria Alvarez (LTU) 6-0, 6-0
5. Natalia Parra Alvarez (MTUW) def. Sarah Burgess (LTU) 6-1, 6-0
6. Anabella Neri (MTUW) def. Claire Flood (LTU) 6-0, 6-0

 

Doubles competition
1. Sabrina Mateos/Anusha Varudandi (LTU) def. Paola Quintana/Sandra Cvetanovic (MTUW) 9-8 (3-0)
2. Vicky Quinde/Ivona Gorgioski (MTUW) def. Carolyn McCullen/Samantha Kohn (LTU) 8-3
3. Anabella Neri/Allenca Rolim (MTUW) def. Maria Alvarez/Sarah Burgess (LTU) 8-2