Fri Sep 09
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Sep 10
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Grand Valley State
Sat Sep 17
Final
1 Ashland
8 Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 18
Final
3 Walsh
6 Michigan Tech
Fri Sep 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sat Oct 01
Final
8 Northwood
1 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 02
Final
6 Saginaw Valley State
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 07
Final
6 Michigan Tech
3 at Hillsdale
Sat Oct 08
Final
4 Michigan Tech
5 at Wayne State
Sat Oct 15
Final
7 Tiffin
2 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 16
Final
0 Findlay
9 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 22
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Lake Superior State
Fri Oct 28
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Tiffin
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 29
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Wayne State
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - Consolation Bracket
Sun Oct 30
Final
5 Hillsdale
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - 7th Place Match
Sat Mar 04
Final
0 Salem International University
9 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Sun Mar 05
Final
2 Catawba
7 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head Island, S.C. Hilton Head, S.C.
Mon Mar 06
Final
7 Michigan Tech
2 vs. Davis & Elkins
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Tue Mar 07
Final
3 Chowan
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Thu Mar 09
Final
5 Palm Beach Atl.
4 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Fri Sep 08
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Lake Superior State
@ Southfield, Mich.
Sat Sep 09
TBA
TBA
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Southfield, Mich.
Sun Sep 10
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Lawrence Tech
Fri Sep 15
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Sep 16
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Tiffin
Sun Sep 17
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Fri Sep 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ Grand Rapids, Mich.
Sat Sep 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ Grand Rapids, Mich.
Sun Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ Grand Rapids, Mich.
Sat Sep 30
TBA
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 01
10:00 AM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Oct 07
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Oct 14
10:00 AM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 15
10:00 AM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Fri Oct 27
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Sat Oct 28
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Sun Oct 29
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Fri Mar 09
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Spring Tennis Fest (Mar. 9-17)
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Tennis Splits Weekend Downstate

Tennis Splits Weekend Downstate

DETROIT, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's tennis team fell in a close 5-4 match at Wayne State on Saturday (Oct. 8). The Huskies won three singles matches and a doubles match.

"We came ready today and played well," Tech coach Kevin Kalinec said. "The match came down to one set in number four singles. We also had a good chance in doubles but couldn't find a way to squeak one out in the number two position."

Kwang Suthijindawong and Sandra Cvetanovic won both of their matches on the day. They teamed up for an 8-2 No. 1 doubles victory. Kwang defeated Dasha Kuznetsova 6-2, 6-1 in top-ranked singles, while Sandra took down Liz Ghellere in three sets, 6-1, 5-7, 6-4 in the third position.

Natalia Parra Alvarez had a come from behind win at the No. 5 singles position. She defeated Astrid Ciellza 5-7, 6-2, 6-2.

Vicky Quinde was edged at the No. 4 singles position 4-6, 7-6, and 6-3. The No. 2 doubles team with Paola Quintana and Allenca Rolim fell 8-6 in another tightly contested matchup.

The Huskies play their final two matches at home next weekend, hosting Tiffin on Saturday and Findlay Sunday at the Gates Tennis Center.

"Next weekend will be another challenge for us," added Kalinec. "Tiffin had a big win over Grand Valley this weekend and it'll be emotional for our seniors in their last matches at home."

Kwang and Kat Donovan are Tech's two seniors.