No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 09
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Sep 10
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Grand Valley State
Sat Sep 17
Final
1 Ashland
8 Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 18
Final
3 Walsh
6 Michigan Tech
Fri Sep 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sat Oct 01
Final
8 Northwood
1 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 02
Final
6 Saginaw Valley State
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 07
Final
6 Michigan Tech
3 at Hillsdale
Sat Oct 08
Final
4 Michigan Tech
5 at Wayne State
Sat Oct 15
Final
7 Tiffin
2 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 16
Final
0 Findlay
9 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 22
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Lake Superior State
Fri Oct 28
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Tiffin
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 29
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Wayne State
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - Consolation Bracket
Sun Oct 30
Final
5 Hillsdale
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - 7th Place Match
Sat Mar 04
Final
0 Salem International University
9 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Sun Mar 05
Final
2 Catawba
7 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head Island, S.C. Hilton Head, S.C.
Mon Mar 06
Final
7 Michigan Tech
2 vs. Davis & Elkins
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Tue Mar 07
Final
3 Chowan
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Thu Mar 09
Final
5 Palm Beach Atl.
4 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Women’s Tennis Defeats Ashland in Home Opener

Women’s Tennis Defeats Ashland in Home Opener

HOUGHTON, Mich. – Michigan Tech women's tennis opened the home portion of its schedule with a dominating 8-1 win over Ashland at the Gates Tennis Center Saturday (Sept. 17). The Huskies are 2-1 on the season and host Walsh on Sunday (Sept. 18).

"We beat a young, well-coached Ashland squad today," Tech coach Kevin Kalinec said. "We worked a lot on doubles this week and it really showed."

Kwang Suthijindawong won her No. 1 singles match over Meghann Fitzpatrick 6-0, 6-1. Paola Quintana (7-5, 4-6, 10-4), Sandra Cvetanovic (6-3, 6-2), and Vicky Quinde (6-3, 6-4) won singles matches in positions 2-4. Anabella Neri (6-2, 6-0) took her match in the sixth spot.

Suthijindawong and Cvetanovic won their No. 1 doubles match 8-1. Quintana and Natalia Parra Alvarez won at No. 2 and Quinde and Neri won 8-1 in the third position.

Sunday's match against the Cavaliers begins at 10 a.m.

"We need to step it up in singles tomorrow against Walsh and focus on not making too many mistakes," added Kalinec. "In doubles, we need to continue to be aggressive, like today."