No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
5:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
1:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
5:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
11:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
5:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Come up Short against Bellarmine

Huskies Come up Short against Bellarmine

EVANSVILLE, Ind. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team fell behind early, but battled back to take a third quarter lead over Bellarmine Saturday afternoon in game one of the University of Southern Indiana Thanksgiving Classic. Unfortunately, a late surge by the Knights resulted in a 73-60 decision in their favor.

"We just didn't take care of the ball like we needed to against their pressure in order to be successful," Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "It will be similar pressure tomorrow, so we'll learn from our mistakes and be ready to bounce back. Ellie Welsh hit some big shots for us and kept us in the game. It was nice to see her step up offensively today."

Bellarmine (4-0) powered out to a 13-0 lead to begin the contest, forcing Michigan Tech (3-2) to play catch-up most of the afternoon. The Huskies were able to break through for points on a jumper by junior Hannah Hobson with just under four minutes to go in the first quarter and from there began to chip away at the deficit. The bucket by Hobson sparked a 9-0 Tech run which culminated on a triple by freshman Ellie Mackay to make it a 13-9 score with 1:44 to go in the first.

Trailing 15-11 to start the second quarter, the Huskies quickly climbed to within two at 15-13 on two free throws courtesy of freshman Jordan Ludescher. However, Bellarmine was able to rebuild a double digit advantage again at 27-15 on a layup from Lauren Deel midway through the second quarter. The Huskies got back on track though in the final five minutes of the second, starting with a three-point bucket from junior Ellie Welsh shortly after the Deel layup. Welsh connected on three triples in the game, which helped produce a career high 15 points in Saturday's contest.

Tech eventually fired in the final nine points of the period to close the gap back down to two points at 29-27 going into the locker room at halftime. Freshman Sloane Zenner, senior Elizabeth Kelliher, sophomore Cassidy Trotter, and Hobson all contributed scoring plays down the final stretch of the second.

The Huskies once again survived an early scoring surge to open the third that saw the Knights open up a 10-point lead again at 41-31 with 6:13 on the clock. Trotter, Welsh, Hobson and Ludescher powered the offense with points as Tech sliced Bellarmine's lead down to one at 41-40. Welsh then converted a crucial layup to give the Huskies their only lead of afternoon at 45-43 with 2:50 remaining in the third quarter.

Unfortunately, the Knights slipped back in front 46-45 on a Mallory Schwartz triple eight seconds later and carried a 51-46 edge into the fourth quarter. Allison Van Dyke gave Bellarmine a 60-48 lead on two free throws with 5:52 left and the Huskies were unable to recover from that final run.

Welsh led all scorers Saturday with 15 points by connecting on 6 of 10 attempts from the field. She also added a rebound, assist, and steal to the stat sheet. Trotter followed with 12 points four rebounds and five assists while Kelliher chipped in eight points and shared the team lead in rebounds with seven. Kelliher picked up two more blocked shots and dished out one assist and had one steal. Hobson also had seven rebounds in the game and produced seven points on the offensive end of the floor.

As a team, the Huskies connected on 23 of 55 attempts from the field (41.8%), were 4 of 18 from three-point range (22.2%), and 10 of 15 on opportunities at the free throw line (66.7%). Both teams combined for 49 turnovers which resulted in a combined 46 points between the two clubs. Each side notched 38 points in the paint Saturday.

Three players had 10 points or more for the Knights, paced by Mallory Schwartz with 14 points and seven rebounds. Deel collected 12 points and hauled down eight rebounds while Liza Tibbs tacked on 10 points and six rebounds off the bench. Bellarmine went 30 for 61 from the field (49.2%), were 5 of 17 from three-point range (29.4%), and 8 of 11 at the charity stripe (72.7%). The Knights had the advantage on the boards, out-rebounding Tech 41-30.

The Huskies will look to regroup on Sunday afternoon when the battle Southern Indiana starting at 3:30 p.m. eastern time.