No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
65 Lewis
51 Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
5:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
1:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
5:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
11:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
5:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Close Weekend with Decisive 75-39 Win over Davis & Elkins

BIG RAPIDS, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team wrapped up an impressive opening weekend with a 75-39 non-conference win against Davis & Elkins Saturday in Big Rapids, Michigan. The Huskies tipped off the regular season with a 96-65 decision in their favor against Ursuline on Friday night after closing the preseason with two exhibition victories.

"I'm happy with the win today and we played really well, especially in the first half," Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "It was good to see us play fast and get some points in transition to create a good lead. It was also nice to be able to get everyone some playing time this weekend, which will help build our confidence as we move forward throughout the season. I don't know if I would have expected 30 point wins in both games, but I knew we would be ready to go and it was great to see that we could perform at a high level and sustain a lead."

Even though the first quarter went in Michigan Tech's (2-0) favor Saturday 25-14, the beginning took the shape of a back and forth battle. Each side traded baskets and the lead through the first five plus minutes. Junior Hannah Hobson knocked down a triple to put the Huskies in front 9-7 with 5:42 to go in the first. Jamiyah Johnson tied the game again at 9-9 a few seconds later, but for the rest of the quarter the tide shifted in the Huskies favor.

Freshman Jordan Ludescher powered Tech in front 11-9 on a layup at the 4:20 mark and from that moment forward the Huskies would never relinquish the advantage. Hobson then knifed to the bucket for a layup off an assist from Ludescher followed by another triple to make it 19-6 with 3:11 remaining in the first. Those points were all part of a 16-5 scoring burst by the Huskies to finish off the first frame. Sophomore Cassidy Trotter capped off the quarter with a layup to send the Huskies into the second period with a 25-14 advantage.

The Huskies kept the momentum rolling at the outset of the second with junior Ellie Welsh dialing in a triple from long range to make it 28-14. Junior Abbie Botz was next up with a pair of two-point field goals and then Hobson found the range again from three-point land for a 35-14 Huskies lead. Botz and Trotter then posted points on layups before Davis & Elkins (0-2) generated their first basket of the second quarter.

The Huskies would eventually outscore the Senators 22-6 in the second quarter to establish a strong foothold in the contest. Welsh closed out an impressive first half for Tech with a three-point basket, extending the lead to 47-20 with 20 minutes in the books.

Tech's offense slowed a bit in the third and fourth quarters, but the defense continued to keep the Senators off balance. The Huskies limited Davis & Elkins to 11 points in the third and eight in the fourth, resulting in the final tally of 75-39. The Senators were held to single digit points totals in two of the fourth periods on Saturday.

Botz established a new career by leading the Huskies' offense with 18 points on a 9 of 12 shooting performance from the field. She also hauled down four rebounds and had a steal on the defensive end of the floor. Hobson also recorded a new career high with 16 points off the bench, powering the Huskies from behind the arc with four triples. Trotter and freshman Ellie Mackay chipped in nine points apiece while Welsh tallied six points and a team high six assists. Junior Baillie McGirk tossed in five points and had a team best five rebounds.

As a team, the Huskies were on target with 29 of 50 shot attempts from the field (58.0%), found the mark on 10 of 20 tries from behind the arc (50.0%), and were 7 for 11 at the free throw line (63.6%). Tech had a large advantage on the glass again Saturday, out-rebounding the Senators 35-19. The defense also forced 22 Davis & Elkins turnovers.

Johnson guided the Senators with 10 points off the bench followed by Kali Wilburn and Rebecca Laberge with six points each. Sydney Nestor reeled in five rebounds and Colleena Burdock distributed four assists and had three steals. Davis & Elkins made just 15 of 47 shots from the field (31.9%), went 2 of 19 from three-point range (10.5%), and 7 of 9 at the charity stripe (77.8%).

The Huskies are in Houghton on Friday for their home opener against MSU-Moorhead with the tip-off scheduled for 6 p.m. Tech will then entertain Minnesota State Sunday afternoon at 1 p.m. to close the weekend.