Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
4:00 PM
Lewis
Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
5:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
1:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
5:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
11:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
5:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
View Full Schedule

Huskies Secure 64-38 Victory over Purdue Northwest

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team closed the weekend with a 64-38 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference win over Purdue Northwest Saturday afternoon in the SDC. The Huskies have now won four straight games and swept regular season series against Northern Michigan, Grand Valley State, and now Purdue Northwest during this three game home stand.

"This was a really important weekend for us and it was great to get a victory today," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kim Cameron said. "I thought we played very well defensively and that was a big positive for us in this game. Our offense wasn't clicking as well as we would like and that happens sometimes, but we were able to rely on our defense. To hold any team to just 11 points in an entire half is something to be really proud of. I'm happy for our team and our players for being able to do that and we have to continue to get better every day."

Michigan Tech (18-3, 12-2 GLIAC), ranked 17th in the latest WBCA Top 25 Coaches' Poll, took control of the scoreboard early thanks to a 12-1 run in the first four minutes of the opening quarter. Senior Brenna Heise drilled a triple at the 7:45 mark followed a few seconds later by a trey from senior Kelli Guy. Senior Hannah Stoll tossed in a layup, junior Elizabeth Kelliher notched two points in the paint, and Heise capped the run with a mid-range jumper.

Meanwhile, the Tech defense prevented Purdue Northwest (3-16, 2-12 GLIAC) from getting a field goal until nearly five minutes into the quarter. Lanie Allen finally connected on a layup for the Pride to make it 12-3 with 5:20 on the first quarter clock. Sophomore Hannah Hobson quickly answered for the Huskies with two free throws and in the final minute of the quarter freshman Cassidy Trotter made her way into the paint for a layup, making it an 18-5 score going into the second period. The points for Trotter were the first two of what would be a career high 10 in the contest Saturday afternoon.

The Huskies continued to create more separation in the second quarter when Kelliher and senior Lindsay Winter recorded the first two baskets, extending the edge to 22-5. Tech would go up by as many as 25 points at 34-9 after two free throws by Heise with seven seconds to go in the half. Danielle Nennig posted the final two points of the half for the Pride and the Huskies carried a 34-11 advantage into the break.

Tech's defense kept Purdue Northwest from getting any closer that 19 points the rest of the afternoon. Heise pushed the Huskies lead to 49-23 on a layup in the last minute of the third quarter before senior Sarah LewAllen granted the Huskies their largest lead of the game at 64-36 thanks to a layup at the 3:40 mark of the fourth period.

Heise powered the Tech offense for the second straight game, firing in 23 points while grabbing five rebounds with three assists against the Pride. Heise recorded a double-double with 16 points and 10 rebounds in the Huskies 68-61 win over Grand Valley State Thursday night. Trotter followed Heise with 10 points, four rebounds, and two assists while Stoll and Kelliher each chipped in eight points. Kelliher led the Huskies on the glass with 10 rebounds, blocked four shots, and dished out four assists.

The Huskies converted 27 of 63 shots from the field (42.9%) and were 6 for 6 at the free throw line. Tech scored 36 points in the paint and scored 18 points after forcing 17 Pride turnovers. The Huskies also held a sizeable advantage on the boards, out-rebounding Purdue Northwest 48-36.

Shae Rhonehouse paced the Pride with seven points followed by Michaela Kikendall with six points. Jessica Kiser was Purdue Northwest's top rebounder with eight and added three points to the stat sheet. The Pride managed to make just 12 field goals (12-54, 22.2%) against a very tough Tech defense. The Huskies have held opponents to under 50 points five times this season.

Michigan Tech will be back on the road next week when the team travels to Saginaw Valley State and Northwood for a pair of GLIAC contests. The Huskies will face Saginaw Valley State first on Thursday at 6 p.m. followed by Northwood on Saturday at 1 p.m.