Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
4:00 PM
Lewis
Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
5:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
1:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
5:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
11:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
5:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
View Full Schedule

Huskies Stumble at Wayne State

Huskies Stumble at Wayne State

DETROIT, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team fell on the road Thursday night in a Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference contest at Wayne State 50-40. The game was dominated by both defenses as each side struggled to put points on the board.

"I thought both teams played really well defensively and it was unfortunate for us that we had a number of players have off nights on offense," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kim Cameron said. "We had some open looks and I felt like we were taking good shots, but they just didn't fall. We have to get back to work and get ready to play a good Davenport team Thursday."

Wayne State (12-4, 7-3 GLIAC) had a strong start to the game and in the process generated the first eight points. Sara Ruhstorfer got to the basket for a layup at the 6:10 make of the first quarter to make it 8-0. Michigan Tech (14-3, 8-2 GLIAC) then turned the tide for the time being with a 14-2 scoring run to close the first period. Senior Lindsay Winter got the Huskies on the board with a jumper and then followed it up with s steal to setup a jumper by junior Elizabeth Kelliher to make it 8-4 a few seconds later.

Just over a minute went off the clock before Kelliher dropped in a layup and then a triple courtesy of senior Kelli Guy gave Tech the lead for the first time at 9-8 with 2:57 on the clock. The only two points for the Warriors in the final six minutes of the quarter were free throws by Shannon Wilson with 2:35 to play. Winter and sophomore Hannah Hobson teamed up for the final five points of the quarter to give the Huskies a 14-10 edge through 10 minutes.

The Warriors and Huskies combined for just 12 points in the second quarter with eight being recorded by Wayne State to tie the game at 18-18 at the break. Wilson put the Warriors back on top 18-16 with a three-point basket at the 3:59 mark, but with just under a minute to go in the half, senior Hannah Stoll connected on a jumper for Tech to tie it again.

The teams traded baskets at the beginning of the third quarter until Alex Matus dialed in a three-point basket to make it 25-22 in favor of Wayne State with 4:10 on the clock. Wilson bumped the Warriors' lead to 29-24 on two free throws and they were able to maintain a five-point edge at 33-28 heading into the fourth.

Wilson quickly made it a seven-point game at 35-28 on layup 41 seconds into the fourth quarter. Tech clawed back to within three at 37-34 thanks to a layup from junior Michelle LaFave with still plenty of time remaining. Wilson pushed the gap to six points again at 40-34 on a three-pointer by Wilson with 5:21 left in the contest, but Kelliher answered with a conventional three-point play to draw the Huskies to within three again at 40-37 on the ensuing possession.

Just over three minutes went by before the next basket and unfortunately it was a jumper by Wayne State's Nastassja Chambers. Chambers then tacked on six more points following stops by the Warriors' defense in the final minute to make it 48-37 with just 20 seconds left to seal the game for Wayne State.

Kelliher led the Huskies with 11 points, 12 rebounds, and seven blocked shots on the defensive end of the floor. It was a season high for both rebounds and blocks, resulting in her first double-double of 2017-18. Winter followed with eight points, nine rebounds, and four assists while Guy chipped in six points and two rebounds. As a team, the Huskies were 16 of 57 from the field (28.1%), 3 of 20 from behind the arc (15.0%), and 5 of 7 at the free throw line (71.4%).

Wayne State was guided by Wilson who produced a game high 22 points while adding 11 rebounds. Chambers picked up 16 points and was the only other player to reach double figures. The Warriors were 16 of 58 from the floor (27.6%), 3 of 14 from three-point range (21.4%), and 15 of 20 at the free throw line (75.0%). The two teams combined for 88 rebounds and Wayne State owned a slight edge with 45.

Michigan Tech will look to bounce back on Thursday when they battle Davenport in Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan. The game was postponed for this Saturday and will be played Thursday starting at 12 p.m. on the campus of Lake Superior State. The Saturday January 27th game against rival Northern Michigan at home will be moved to Sunday January 28th in the SDC at 1 p.m.