No Event
No Event
Fri Nov 25
FINAL
na MTU-West Yellowstone Ski Festival
na at MTU-West Yellowstone Ski Festival
Sat Nov 26
FINAL
No Team Score MTU-West Yellowstone Ski Festival
No Team Score at MTU-West Yellowstone Ski Festival
Sat Dec 03
CANCELLED
at UP Dual
Sun Dec 04
CANCELLED
at UP Dual
Sat Dec 10
FINAL
No Team Score UP Opener-Houghton, Mich.
No Team Score at UP Opener-Houghton, Mich.
Sun Dec 11
FINAL
No Team Score UP Opener-Houghton, Mich.
No Team Score at UP Opener-Houghton, Mich.
Sat Dec 17
FINAL
No Team Score Michigan Tech-Central Super NCAA/JNQ Series
No Team Score at Michigan Tech-Central Super NCAA/JNQ Series
Sun Dec 18
FINAL
No Team Score Michigan Tech-Central Super NCAA/JNQ Series
No Team Score at Michigan Tech-Central Super NCAA/JNQ Series
Sat Jan 07
FINAL
No Team Score MTU-US Nationals - Soldier Hollow
No Team Score at MTU-US Nationals - Soldier Hollow
Sun Jan 08
FINAL
No Team Score MTU US Nationals - Soldier Hollow
No Team Score at MTU US Nationals - Soldier Hollow
Tue Jan 10
FINAL
No Team Score US Nationals - Soldier Hollow
No Team Score at US Nationals - Soldier Hollow
Sat Jan 21
FINAL
No Team Score Telemark Central Super NCAA/JNQ Series
No Team Score at Telemark Central Super NCAA/JNQ Series
Sun Jan 22
FINAL
No Team Score Telemark Central Super NCAA/JNQ Series
No Team Score at Telemark Central Super NCAA/JNQ Series
Sat Jan 28
FINAL
No Team Score Duluth Central Super NCAA/JNQ Series
No Team Score at Duluth Central Super NCAA/JNQ Series
Sun Jan 29
FINAL
No Team Score Duluth Central Super NCAA/JNQ Series
No Team Score at Duluth Central Super NCAA/JNQ Series
Sat Feb 04
FINAL
No Team Score CCSA Championships - Houghton, Mich.
No Team Score at CCSA Championships- Houghton, Mich.
Sun Feb 05
FINAL
No Team Score CCSA Championships - Houghton, Mich.
No Team Score at CCSA Championships - Houghton, Mich.
Sat Feb 11
FINAL
No Team Score Rhinelander NCAA Qualifier - Rhinelander, Wis.
No Team Score at Rhinelander NCAA Qualifier - Rhinelander, Wis.
Sat Feb 18
FINAL
No Team Score NCAA Central Region Skiing Championships - Marquette, Mich.
No Team Score at NCAA Central Region Skiing Championships - Marquette, Mich.
Sun Feb 19
FINAL
No Team Score NCAA Central Region Skiing Championships - Marquette, Mich.
No Team Score at NCAA Central Region Skiing Championships - Marquette, Mich.
Fri Mar 03
at Canadian Nor-Ams - Thunder Bay, Ontario
Sun Mar 05
at US Junior National Championships - Lake Placid, NY
Thu Mar 09
FINAL
No Team Score NCAA Championship - Jackson, NH
No Team Score at NCAA Championship - Jackson, NH
Classic
Sat Mar 11
FINAL
No Team Score NCAA Championship - Jackson, NH
No Team Score at NCAA Championship - Jackson, NH
Freestyle
Sat Mar 18
at Canadian Nationals
Sun Mar 26
Cancelled
at UP College Spring Series
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Men Earn 10th Overall to Wrap Up Season at NCAA Championship Races

Huskies Men Earn 10th Overall to Wrap Up Season at NCAA Championship Races

JACKSON, N.H. – The Michigan Tech Nordic skiers battled in the bitter cold conditions to the finish line in the freestyle races. Huskies closed their 2016-17 season at the NCAA Championship Races hosted by the University of New Hampshire.

The Tech men earned 10th overall in the championship races, while the women, Sonja Hedblom and Carolyn Lucca completed their last career races as Huskies. This will also be Tomi Mikkonen's last round with the Huskies, as his exchange program will come to an end.

Tom Bye cracked the top 20 in the 20K freestyle event, finishing in 14th place with a time of 47:48.1. Gaspard Cuenot and Tomi Mikkonen experienced some hardships in the field this afternoon. Gaspard pulled through the course with a time of 48:56.4 in 31st place. Tomi Mikkonen followed in 39th, with a time of 52:12.9.

"We had a mixed bag with results, today," said head coach Joe Haggenmiller. "Tom Bye faced some adversity and did a really good job dealing with it. After being in dead last and breaking a pole, he moved all the way to 14th, which is just outstanding. Gaspard had some back issues causing him to fall behind."

Sonja Hedblom and Carolyn Lucca fought all the way to the end to wrap up their careers in the 15K freestyle. Hedblom placed 35th with a time of 44:21.2. Lucca trailed behind to secure 38th place with a time of 47:06.8.

"Tomi, Carolyn and Sonja all persevered this afternoon and finished the race," said coach Haggenmiller. "Carolyn and Sonja will be graduating and we wish them the best of luck in the future. We are fortunate to cap off their careers here with a trip to the NCAA Championships. Carolyn may be looking into graduate school at MTU," added Haggenmiller. "We will see what the future holds with that.  Tomi had a good season with the Huskies for his year of exchange, and we were so happy to have him. The three of them will definitely be missed."

The men's and women's teams combined earned a total of 28 points in the competition that includes alpine and Nordic skiing. The University of Utah took first place overall. 

NCAA Championship Races - Jackson, N.H.