No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 16
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Sep 17
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Sep 18
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Bulldog Invitational
@ Big Rapids, MI
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Bulldog Invitational
@ Big Rapids, MI
Sat Mar 04
Final
1 Salem International University
8 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Mon Mar 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 vs. Davis & Elkins
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Tue Mar 07
Final
9 Catawba
0 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Thu Mar 09
Final
9 Chowan
0 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Sat Mar 18
Final
8 Walsh
1 Michigan Tech
Sun Mar 19
Final
9 Tiffin
0 Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 24
Final
1 Michigan Tech
8 at Findlay
Sat Mar 25
Final
1 Michigan Tech
8 at Hillsdale
Sat Apr 01
Final
9 Grand Valley State
0 Michigan Tech
Sun Apr 02
Final
9 Ferris State
0 Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 08
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Lake Superior State
Fri Apr 14
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Wayne State
Sat Apr 15
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Northwood
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Suffer Setback to Grand Valley State

Huskies Suffer Setback to Grand Valley State

HOUHGTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's tennis team suffered a 9-0 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference loss on Saturday to Grand Valley State University at the Gates Tennis Center. The Huskies were unable to slow down the Lakers who swept all the points in Saturday's match.

Illiya Chibirev and Tayler Bethke turned in the top performance in doubles for Michigan Tech (1-8, 0-5 GLIAC) by keeping pace with Nicholas Urban and Jack Geissler of Grand Valley State (13-6, 3-1 GLIAC) for most of the contest. However, Urban/Geissler were able to hold on for an 8-4 victory in the No.3 doubles spot in Saturday's lineup.

In singles competition, the Huskies were led by Ricardo Paes in the No .3 slot in the lineup. Paes battled Geissler through two sets before falling 6-4, 6-3. Illiya Chibirev and Mario Neto kept things close in the second sets of their singles contests, but each player fell 6-1, 6-3 to the Lakers.

Michigan Tech will wrap up the home portion of the 2017 schedule Sunday morning against Ferris State at the Gates Tennis Center beginning at 10 a.m.

The complete results are listed below.

Grand Valley State 9, Michigan Tech 0
Apr 01, 2017 at Houghton, Mich. (Gates Tennis Center)

Singles

1. Sebastien Lescoulie (GV-M) def. Mario Neto (MTM) 6-1, 6-3

2. Zach Phillps (GV-M) def. Juan Felipe Chica (MTM) 6-1, 6-2

3. Jack Geissler (GV-M) def. Ricardo Paes (MTM) 6-4, 6-3

4. Alex vande Steenoven (GV-M) def. Illiya Chibirev (MTM) 6-1, 6-3

5. Jack Heiniger (GV-M) def. Tayler Bethke (MTM) 6-0, 6-1

6. Nicholas Urban (GV-M) def. Jacob Prochnow (MTM) 6-0, 6-1

Doubles

1. Alex vande Steenoven/Zach Phillps (GV-M) def. Mario Neto/Juan Felipe Chica (MTM) 8-3

2. Jack Heiniger/Sebastien Lescoulie (GV-M) def. Ricardo Paes/Jacob Prochnow (MTM) 8-2

3. Nicholas Urban/Jack Geissler (GV-M) def. Illiya Chibirev/Tayler Bethke (MTM) 8-4

Match Notes

Grand Valley State 13-6, 3-1 GLIAC
Michigan Tech 1-8, 0-5 GLIAC