No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 16
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Sep 17
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Sep 18
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Bulldog Invitational
@ Big Rapids, MI
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Bulldog Invitational
@ Big Rapids, MI
Sat Mar 04
Final
1 Salem International University
8 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Mon Mar 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 vs. Davis & Elkins
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Tue Mar 07
Final
9 Catawba
0 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Thu Mar 09
Final
9 Chowan
0 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Sat Mar 18
Final
8 Walsh
1 Michigan Tech
Sun Mar 19
Final
9 Tiffin
0 Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 24
Final
1 Michigan Tech
8 at Findlay
Sat Mar 25
Final
1 Michigan Tech
8 at Hillsdale
Sat Apr 01
Final
9 Grand Valley State
0 Michigan Tech
Sun Apr 02
Final
9 Ferris State
0 Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 08
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Lake Superior State
Fri Apr 14
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Wayne State
Sat Apr 15
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Northwood
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Close Weekend at Hillsdale

Huskies Close Weekend at Hillsdale

HILLSDALE, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's tennis team fell at Hillsdale 8-1 on Saturday in a Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference match to wrap up the weekend. Mario Neto highlighted the contest with his team leading third singles victory of the 2017 season.

Michigan Tech (1-7, 0-4 GLIAC) opened the day in doubles competition and nearly came away with a point early in the match. Illiya Chibirev and Tayler Bethke teamed up to challenge Julien Clouette and Milan Mirkovic of Hillsdale (8-6, 1-2 GLIAC) in No. 3 doubles. The Huskies came up just short 8-6 and from there the Chargers garnered the other two points to carry a 3-0 advantage in to the singles portion of the match.

Neto had one of his best singles outings of the season, sweeping Hillsdale's No.1 player Justin Hyman 6-1 and 6-1. Unfortunately, the Chargers would sweep the other five singles contest on their way to the 8-1 win. After a tough first set in No. 6 singles, Jacob Prochnow pushed Juilen Clouette to the wire in the second set before falling 6-4. Clouette had grabbed the lead after one set 6-1.

The Huskies return home on Saturday to host Grand Valley State University in another GLIAC match at the Gates Tennis Center. The first serve is slated for 10 a.m.

The complete results are listed below.

Hillsdale College 8, Michigan Tech 1
Mar 25, 2017 at Hillsdale, Mich. (Biermann Center)

Singles

1. Mario Neto (MTM) def. Justin Hyman (HCM) 6-1, 6-1

2. Charlie Adams (HCM) def. Juan Felipe Chica (MTM) 6-0, 6-0

3. Milan Mirkovic (HCM) def. Ricardo Paes (MTM) 6-2, 6-2

4. Dugan Delp (HCM) def. Illiya Chibirev (MTM) 6-2, 6-1

5. John Ciraci (HCM) def. Tayler Bethke (MTM) 6-0, 6-1

6. Julien Clouette (HCM) def. Jacob Prochnow (MTM) 6-1, 6-4

Doubles

1. Justin Hyman/Charlie Adams (HCM) def. Mario Neto/Juan Felipe Chica (MTM) 8-3

2. John Ciraci/Dugan Delp (HCM) def. Ricardo Paes/Jacob Prochnow (MTM) 8-2

3. Julien Clouette/Milan Mirkovic (HCM) def. Illiya Chibirev/Tayler Bethke (MTM) 8-6

Match Notes

Michigan Tech 1-7

Hillsdale College 8-6

T-3:12 A-42