No Event
Fri Sep 16
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Sep 17
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Sep 18
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Bulldog Invitational
@ Big Rapids, MI
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Bulldog Invitational
@ Big Rapids, MI
Sat Mar 04
Final
1 Salem International University
8 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Mon Mar 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 vs. Davis & Elkins
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Tue Mar 07
Final
9 Catawba
0 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Thu Mar 09
Final
9 Chowan
0 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Sat Mar 18
Final
8 Walsh
1 Michigan Tech
Sun Mar 19
Final
9 Tiffin
0 Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 24
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Findlay
Sat Mar 25
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Hillsdale
Sat Apr 01
10:00 AM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sun Apr 02
10:00 AM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 08
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Fri Apr 14
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Apr 15
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Fri Apr 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, MI
Sat Apr 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, MI
Sun Apr 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, MI
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Fall to Davis & Elkins in Spring Opener

Huskies Fall to Davis & Elkins in Spring Opener

HILTON HEAD S.C. – The Michigan Tech men's tennis team kicked off the spring portion of the 2017 schedule on Monday morning, falling to Davis & Elkins 7-2. It was the first competition for the men since the ITA Regionals and Bulldog Invitational back in September.

Michigan Tech (0-1) was powered by the play of Illiya Chibirev who notched a singles win on final scores of 6-4 and 6-1 against Samuel Vallieres of Davis & Elkins in the No. 4 spot. The Huskies' other point on Monday was generated via a doubles win by Ricardo Paes and Jacob Prochnow against Samuel Vallieres and Matthew Alexander of Davis & Elkins.

The Huskies will be back on the courts Tuesday in Hilton Head when they battle Catawba during day two of the spring trip.

DAVIS & ELKINS 7, MICHIGAN TECH 2
Singles

1. Ivan Bonderanko (D&E) d. Mario Neto 6-3, 6-3

2. Tare Mariga (D&E) d. Juan Felipe Chica 6-2, 6-2

3. Jack Clifton (D&E) d. Ricardo Paes 7-6 (4), 2-6, 10-4

4. Illiya Chibirev (MTU) d. Samuel Vallieres 6-4, 6-1

5. Matthew Alexander (D&E) d. Tayler Bethke 6-2, 20-18, 4-10

6. Tristram Spitsnaugle (D&E) d. Jacob Prochnow 6-1, 6-3

Doubles

1. Bonderanko/Mariga (D&E) d. Netto/Chica 8-1

2. Paes/Prochnow (MTU) d. Vallieres/Alexander 8-5

3. Clifton/ Spitsnaugle (D&E) d. Chibirev/Bethke 8-2