Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final - OT
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
Final
2 Northern Michigan
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
Final
5 Michigan Tech
3 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Fri Mar 09
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 10
Final
4 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 11
Final - OT
2 Michigan Tech
1 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 3
Sat Mar 17
Final
2 Michigan Tech
0 at Northern Michigan
WCHA Championship Game
Fri Mar 23
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
4 vs. Notre Dame
@ Bridgeport, CT NCAA Tournament - East Region Semifinal
Fri Oct 12
Final
2 Minnesota Duluth
1 Michigan Tech
Hall of Fame Weekend
Sat Oct 13
Final
5 Minnesota Duluth
2 Michigan Tech
Hall of Fame Weekend
Fri Oct 26
Final
6 Michigan Tech
2 at Wisconsin
Sat Oct 27
Final
2 Michigan Tech
6 at Wisconsin
Fri Nov 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
1 at Alabama Huntsville
Sat Nov 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
1 at Alabama Huntsville
Fri Nov 09
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Nov 10
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Nov 16
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Clarkson
Sat Nov 17
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Clarkson
Fri Nov 30
Final - OT
3 Bemidji State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 01
Final
2 Bemidji State
7 Michigan Tech
Fri Dec 07
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Northern Michigan
Sat Dec 08
Final
1 Northern Michigan
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Dec 14
Final
1 Alabama Huntsville
0 Michigan Tech
Vollwerth's Family Night
Sat Dec 15
Final - OT
1 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 30
1:00 PM
Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Little Caesars Arena Great Lakes Invitational
Mon Dec 31
TBA
Michigan State / Lake Superior State
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Little Caesars Arena Great Lakes Invitational
Fri Jan 04
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota State
Sat Jan 05
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota State
Fri Jan 11
7:07 PM
Bowling Green
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
7:07 PM
Bowling Green
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 18
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Sat Jan 19
8:37 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Fri Jan 25
11:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Jan 26
11:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Feb 08
7:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 09
5:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 15
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Fri Feb 22
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 23
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 01
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Sat Mar 02
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
View Full Schedule

Gould hat trick leads to sweep of Alaska

HOUGHTON, Mich. – Michigan Tech defeated Alaska 7-2 Saturday (Nov. 24) to complete the weekend sweep and improve to 6-0 in the WCHA. The Huskies have now won 16 straight games over the Nanooks and were fueled offensively by Gavin Gould's second career hat trick.

"We came out and competed hard tonight," Tech coach Joe Shawhan said. "I thought we were good in every aspect of the game. I'm happy with the effort all around for sure. A lot of guys played extremely well tonight. It was a great team effort."

Gould scored the first three goals for the Black and Gold. He cleaned up a rebound in front of the net 4:15 into the game after a long shot by Tyler Rockwell. Dylan Steman added the second assist.

Alaska (2-10-2, 2-5-1 WCHA) tied it up on the power play 3:00 into the second on a long shot by Antti Virtanen. Tyler Cline and Sam Ruffin assisted.

Gould got back to work only 26 seconds later. He backhanded another rebound out front to give the Huskies the lead again. Raymond Brice and Zach Noble assisted.

Gould buried his third of the night, and fifth of the season, 4:11 later. He caught a cross-ice, stretch pass from Jake Lucchini and wristed a shot from the top of the circle that found the back of the net before the hats littered the ice.

"I've had a little bit of a slower start offensively," Gould said. "We're still trying to find the right line combinations that work. I know I've been getting chances all season and they haven't been going in. Tonight, they went in."

The Huskies (7-5, 6-0 WCHA) broke it open from there. Brian Halonen made it 4-1 at 8:59, scoring his second of the weekend. The goal was unassisted as he picked up a loose puck behind the net and wrapped it around for his fourth of the season.

Alex Smith joined the party 1:12 into the third period with a power play tally from Jake Lucchini for his first of the season. He blasted a slap shot from the left of UAF goaltender Gustavs Grigals for the 16th goal of his career.

Lucchini made it 6-1 with a one-timer on the power play from Seamus Donohue at 4:59. The goal capped off a three-point night for the captain—his third of the season.

"We got great contributions from Gavin, obviously, and Lucchini," added Shawhan. "Smith also had a nice goal on the power play. We need those guys to play well if we want to have long-range success this season."

Rockwell scored the final tally for Tech for his first career goal 8:28 into the third. He one-timed a pass from Dylan Steman and the puck redirected into the back of the net. Rockwell also had a three-point night with a pair of assists.

"Dylan gave me a great saucer pass on my stick on the two-on-one," Rockwell said. "I really don't know how the puck went in, but I'll take it."

The third period was littered with penalties and the Nanooks potted a goal at 13:17 to finish off scoring. Tristan Thompson scored from Colton Leiter and Steven Jandric.

The Huskies outshot the Nanooks 60-29 Saturday, totaling 108 shots on the weekend. Matt Jurusik had 27 saves for the Huskies in his return to the crease, including a big stop on a breakaway with 6:00 left in the second period. Anton Martinsson had 26 saves in the first 29:00 for Alaska, while Grigals finished off the game with 27 saves in 31:00 of action.

Tech was 2-for-7 on the power play and 3-for-4 on the penalty kill as the two teams combined for 20 penalties.

The last time the Huskies scored seven goals was on March 4, 2017, when they defeated Lake Superior State 8-0 to sweep a WCHA Quarterfinal playoff series at home.

Gould scored his first career hat trick the following weekend on March 12, 2017, when the Huskies defeated Minnesota State 4-1 in the WCHA Semifinals to advance to the WCHA Championship Game.

Tech will remain at home next weekend (Nov. 30-Dec. 1), hosting Bemidji State in the first of two meetings between the two teams.

"It's nice to be at home," Shawhan said. "We've been playing excellent hockey lately. Hopefully, our fans enjoy this home stretch. They're an important part of our program."