No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final Shootout - Home
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
Final
2 Northern Michigan
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
Final
5 Michigan Tech
3 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Fri Mar 09
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 10
Final
4 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 11
Final - OT
2 Michigan Tech
1 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 3
Sat Mar 17
Final
2 Michigan Tech
0 at Northern Michigan
WCHA Championship Game
Fri Mar 23
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
4 vs. Notre Dame
@ Bridgeport, CT NCAA Tournament - East Region Semifinal
View Full Schedule

Tech Falls at No. 12 Notre Dame Friday

SOUTH BEND, Ind. – The Michigan Tech hockey team fell 3-1 at No. 12 Notre Dame on Friday. Joel L'Esperance tied the game early in the third before the home team scored two goals later in the frame. Tech is now 12-9-3 overall and wraps up nonconference play Saturday against the Fighting Irish.

"We're in these games so we just can't get frustrated," Tech coach Mel Pearson said. "We have to maintain the positive energy around our team and continue to work hard and work through this. We have a good hockey team and we're playing some tough teams."

The Huskies trailed 1-0 entering the third period and began it on the power play after the Fighting Irish were whistled for a penalty with 22 seconds left in the second.

Jake Lucchini won the period's opening faceoff and the Huskies worked the puck into the UND zone. Lucchini dug it out of the corner and fed it out to the blueline to Shane Hanna. Matt Roy received a cross-ice pass from Hanna and took a long wrist shot. Irish goaltender Cal Petersen made the initial save, but the puck rebounded out to L'Esperance who cleaned up the play for his seventh of the season and fourth on the power play only 17 ticks into the third.

"The goal was scored on a simple play," added Pearson. "We have to continue to simplify our game right now and get people to the dirty areas around the net to get our offense going."

UND (12-6-2) regained the lead 7:11 later as Jack Jenkins finished off a 2-on-1 rush with a shot that squirted through Tech goaltender Angus Redmond.

Cliff Watson had a chance at tying the game up after Lucchini fed him streaking to the net, but the shot was deflected away and L'Esperance was too deep behind the net to get a quality shot off on the rebound.

The home team then made it 3-1 with 6:36 remaining after a bad bounce off the glass behind Redmond kicked the puck out front. Joe Wegwerth capitalized to score the game's final goal.

Tech had chances to cut into the lead in the late stages of the game. Alex Smith redirected a shot by Watson with under 2:00 left. Gavin Gould then found himself alone in front of Petersen after he stole the puck, but the UND netminder was there for the save on the quick shot.

UND's first goal came on a long shot through traffic 5:00 into the second period moments after Tech came off a 5-on-3 penalty kill. Jake Evans was credited with the goal.

Redmond finished the night with 23 saves, including 10 in the third period. He had a few dazzling saves. One immediately after the Huskies' goal and again later in the third with two saves before getting some help from Roy to keep the puck out of the net.

Tech outshot UND 28-26 and has outshot opponents in 14 of the last 15 games. Hanna led with five shots on goal while L'Esperance was credited with four.

The penalty kill continued to shine, going 6-for-6 to extend its streak to 43 straight. UND even had a pair of 5-on-3 chances, including 76 seconds worth early in the second period.

The series finale stats at 7:05 p.m. Saturday from the Compton Family Ice Arena. Fans across the country can watch the game live on the NBC Sports Network. Canadian fans can watch on TSN Go. Mix 93.5 FM WKMJ will also broadcast the game on the radio in the Copper Country and online at Pasty.com.