No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
2:37 PM
Michigan State
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Tue Jan 02
TBA
Michigan / Bowling Green
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Fri Jan 05
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Boston College
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Sat Jan 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Fri Jan 19
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
7:37 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
7:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
5:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Score Four Straight to Win at Alaska Friday

Photo by Paul McCarthy.
Photo by Paul McCarthy.
Play Video

FAIRBANKS, Alaska – Michigan Tech remained unbeaten in its last six games with a 4-1 victory at Alaska Friday (Nov. 25) night from the Carlson Center. The Huskies scored four unanswered goals after the Nanooks opened scoring and improved to 8-6-3 overall and 7-2-2-1 in the WCHA.

"I'm so proud of the guys," Tech assistant coach Joe Shawhan said. "We only gave up 11 shots through the last two periods against a very good hockey team. Our penalty kill did an outstanding job and our power play got a goal. It was just a gutsy team effort."

Tyler Heinonen made it 1-1 38 seconds after UAF took the lead. Chris Gerrie fed Heinonen up the middle who went in alone on goaltender Jesse Jenks and made a move to bury his fourth of the season. Alex Smith also assisted on the play.

Jake Lucchini scored the go-ahead goal 4:38 into the second period with his fifth of the season and first even strength tally. Gavin Gould stole the puck and set up Lucchini for a one-timer and the 12th of his career.

Joel L'Esperance made it a 3-1 game, extending his point streak to seven games 13:46 into the second. Mark Auk kept the puck in the zone on the power play, feeding down to Lucchini who went cross-ice to L'Esperance for his eighth point (5G, 3A) in the last seven games.

UAF (4-8-1, 3-5-1-1 WCHA) buzzed in the third period, even pulling the goaltender with 3:40 left to add the extra attacker.

Tech goaltender Angus Redmond had to stand tall, poke-checking a Nanook forward who went in alone on Redmond on a 5-on-3 in the third. He also stoned Josh Erickson on a breakaway late in the second period and had three saves in 58 seconds of 5-on-3 earlier in the frame. Redmond finished with 22 saves to pick up his seventh win of the season.

"Angus made some key saves when he needed to," assistant coach Gary Shuchuk said. "That poke check on the 5-on-3 was big time. He's been the best player on the ice. Guys are confident right now because they can make a mistake and know that they have a guy back there that can make a save."

Chris Leibinger put the game away for the Huskies with an empty net tally with 35 seconds left in the game. For Leibinger, it was his fifth of the season and ninth of his career with the assist going to Reid Sturos.

Ross Heidt opened the game's scoring with a power play goal 9:13 into the game to give the home team the 1-0 lead.

The two teams were whistled for 18 total penalties. There were eight calls in the second period alone, which took 55 minutes to play. There were also a total of 65 faceoffs in the game.

Tech was 1-for-7 on the power play and 9-for-10 on the penalty kill. The Huskies outshot the Nanooks 31-23.

The two teams wrap-up their only meeting of the season on Saturday (Nov. 26) at 11:07 p.m. Eastern.

"They'll come out and play hard tomorrow," Shawhan added. "We need to watch some film and shore some things up on our end."