No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
2:37 PM
Michigan State
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Tue Jan 02
TBA
Michigan / Bowling Green
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Fri Jan 05
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Boston College
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Sat Jan 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Fri Jan 19
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
7:37 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
7:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
5:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Minnesota State Defeats Huskies Saturday

MANKATO, Minn. – The No. 17-ranked Michigan Tech hockey team suffered a 3-0 loss to No. 19 Minnesota State on Saturday (Oct. 8) at the Verizon Wireless Center. The Huskies make their season debut at the John MacInnes Student Ice Arena next weekend (Oct. 14-15) against Alabama Huntsville.

"If you don't score goals you aren't going to win hockey games," Tech coach Mel Pearson said. "Penalties were another big factor tonight. The strength of their team is defense and goaltending, but their power play drove them this weekend."

The Mavericks scored three goals in the first period. The first was scored 4-on-4 by Zeb Knutson (10:32). Daniel Brickley (14:29) and Marc Michaelis (17:47) got the other tallies on the power play for the home team in the first

The Huskies found a rhythm in the second period on the power play. Shane Hanna had a pair of longs blasts get through to MSU goaltender Cole Huggins, but he was there for the stop.

Tech had a shorthanded 2-on-1 later in the second. Tyler Heinonen's pass went just out of reach of Dylan Steman.

Joel L'Esperance found himself open with the puck in front of Huggins but couldn't settle a bouncing puck early in the third. Jake Jackson had a backhanded shot off a big rebound get steered wide.

MSU's CJ Franklin added a power play goal 13:28 into the third for the 4-0 lead.

Huggins stood tall on a flurry of Tech shots with less than 5:00 to play. Jackson, L'Esperance and Matt Roy all had shots on the goal as MSU scrambled to clear the puck.

Tech was called for 13 penalties in a whistle-heavy game, while MSU had eight minors.

Devin Kero made the start between the pipes for the Huskies, making 32 saves. Huggins stopped 25 shots.

The Huskies open up the home portion of their schedule next weekend (Oct. 14-15) against Alabama Huntsville. The puck drops at 7:07 p.m. both nights at the John MacInnes Student Ice Arena.

"When things aren't going your way that brings out the true character in your team," added Pearson. "We came into two of the toughest buildings in the country, and we played pretty well 5-on-5. It'll be nice to get home next weekend."

Michigan Tech welcomes back NHL All-Star MVP John Scott Friday night. John and his family will drop the puck to begin the game and he will also sign posters for fans. The first 1,000 fans to Saturday night's game get a MacNaughton Cup T-shirt.

Tickets are on sale for $18 for adults and $10 for youth. All tickets can be purchased at the SDC Central Ticket Office, online at BuyHuskiesTickets.com or over the phone at 906-487-2073. Season tickets also still on sale for $255 and includes a seat for all 14 regular season home games and the first round of the WCHA Playoffs.