No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
2:37 PM
Michigan State
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Tue Jan 02
TBA
Michigan / Bowling Green
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Fri Jan 05
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Boston College
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Sat Jan 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Fri Jan 19
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
7:37 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
7:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
5:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Hockey Falls Sunday After Late UMD Goal

DULUTH, Minn. – The No. 17-ranked Michigan Tech hockey team suffered a 4-3 loss to No. 6 Minnesota Duluth on Sunday (Oct. 2) after the Bulldogs scored with 15 seconds left on the clock. The Huskies drop to 0-2 on the season and open WCHA play at Minnesota State next weekend.

"We played much better and competed much harder tonight," Tech coach Mel Pearson said. "If we continually improve like we did from last night to tonight, we'll be fine. We just can't give up 10 goals on a weekend and expect to win."

Reid Sturos scored the first goal of the season for Michigan Tech 3:46 into the game. Mark Auk was patient with the puck and found Sturos wide open between the circles for his 19th career goal.

Tyler Heinonen added to the lead as he corralled a blocked shot and fired it under UMD goaltender Hunter Miska. Dylan Steman and Dane Birks assisted on the goal 8:21 into the first.

UMD (2-0-0) cut into the lead on a Kyle Osterberg goal with only 29 seconds left on the first period clock.

Joel L'Esperance again gave Tech a two-goal lead as he caught a pass from Brent Baltus to the right of Miska. L'Esperance found the upper corner of the net with Birks recording his second assist of the night.

Devin Kero was solid between the pipes for the Huskies in his first career start. He had two big saves on breakaways, the first leading to the Sturos goal early in the game. He then stopped Osterberg 13:27 into the second with his glove and finished the night with 27 saves.

The Bulldogs drew to within one with a power play goal late (17:09) in the second on a 5-on-3 power play. They tied it up 11:35 into the third. The goal was reviewed for a high stick but stood.

Alex Iafallo scored the game-winner with 15 seconds left as Neal Pionk found him wide open in front of Kero for the tip in.

The Huskies pulled Kero in the final moments and got the puck deep in the UMD zone but couldn't get a quality scoring chance.

The Huskies had 21 shots on goal during the game and hit the iron a couple times. Baltus hit the post in the first and Heinonen found it in the second.

Tech was called for seven penalties, including a five-minute major. The Bulldogs were 1-for-7 on the power play. The Huskies were 0-for-6 on the man advantage after six UMD penalties.

The Huskies and Mavericks shared the MacNaughton Cup last season and fittingly open conference play against each other. Puck drop is set for 8:07 p.m. both nights at the Verizon Wireless Center.

"It's going to be a heck of a series down in Mankato next weekend," added Pearson. "Their building is going to be electric on their opening weekend. I know the coaches and players are excited, and we're also excited to get some good practices in this week."