No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final Shootout - Home
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
Final
2 Northern Michigan
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
Final
5 Michigan Tech
3 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Fri Mar 09
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 10
Final
4 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 11
Final - OT
2 Michigan Tech
1 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 3
Sat Mar 17
Final
2 Michigan Tech
0 at Northern Michigan
WCHA Championship Game
Fri Mar 23
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
4 vs. Notre Dame
@ Bridgeport, CT NCAA Tournament - East Region Semifinal
View Full Schedule

Hockey Falls in Season Opener at No. 6 Minnesota Duluth

Photo: Dave Harwig (viewthroughmylens.net)
Photo: Dave Harwig (viewthroughmylens.net)
Play Video

DULUTH, Minn. – The No. 17-ranked Michigan Tech hockey team suffered a 6-0 loss to No. 6 Minnesota Duluth in the season-opener for both teams Saturday (Oct. 1). The Huskies and Bulldogs wrap up the nonconference series Sunday at 5:07 p.m. at Amsoil Arena.

"We were a step behind right from the get go tonight," Tech coach Mel Pearson said. "We just were not sharp, and they played a good game, finished their chances, and had good goaltending.

The Bulldogs scored two goals in the first period, three in the second, and one in the third.

Hunter Miska stopped all 21 of Michigan Tech's shots. Alex Gillies tested him early, blasting a one-timer from right out front after Dylan Steman dug the puck out of the corner 90 seconds into the season.

UMD got on the scoreboard 5:45 into the game after a five-minute major was called on Tech. Parker Mackay tipped in a shot by Neil Pionk. Blake Young added the second goal for the Bulldogs in the first.

Late in the opening frame, a Cliff Watson shot nearly found the back of the net after it deflected off Miska's blocker, bounced in the air, hit the crossbar, and bounced in the crease. Mason Blacklock had a similar shot in the second period that Miska missed with his glove, hitting him in the facemask.

Willie Raskob and Kyle Osterberg scored goals in the second period for the home team.

Devin Kero relieved Tech starter Matt Wintjes between the pipes for his first regular season action of his career. Wintjes had 11 saves in the first period in a half, while Kero finished with 10. Kero slammed the door on Dominic Toninato on a penalty shot with 2:27 left.

Jake Jackson had two scoring changes in the third. He blasted a one-timer wide on the power play and then missed a partial breakaway with 75 seconds left in the game.

Tech was 0-for-4 on the power play while the Bulldogs capitalized on 3-of-6 chances. Tyler Heinonen led the Huskies with four shots on goal.

"We found out where we are tonight," said Pearson. "We have a lot of work to do. It's only one game. We have a long year and a lot of games in front of us. We have to learn from our performance tonight and get better."

Tomorrow's game can be heard on Mix 93.5 FM WKMJ or online at Pasty.net. Puck drop is set for 5:07 p.m. Eastern.