No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final - OT
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
Final
2 Northern Michigan
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
Final
5 Michigan Tech
3 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Fri Mar 09
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 10
Final
4 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 11
Final - OT
2 Michigan Tech
1 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 3
Sat Mar 17
Final
2 Michigan Tech
0 at Northern Michigan
WCHA Championship Game
Fri Mar 23
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
4 vs. Notre Dame
@ Bridgeport, CT NCAA Tournament - East Region Semifinal
Fri Oct 12
Final
2 Minnesota Duluth
1 Michigan Tech
Hall of Fame Weekend
Sat Oct 13
Final
5 Minnesota Duluth
2 Michigan Tech
Hall of Fame Weekend
Fri Oct 26
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wisconsin
Sat Oct 27
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wisconsin
Fri Nov 02
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alabama Huntsville
Sat Nov 03
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alabama Huntsville
Fri Nov 09
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Nov 10
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Fri Nov 16
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Clarkson
Sat Nov 17
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Clarkson
Fri Nov 23
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 30
7:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 01
7:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Fri Dec 07
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Sat Dec 08
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Fri Dec 14
7:07 PM
Alabama Huntsville
Michigan Tech
Vollwerth's Family Night
Sat Dec 15
7:07 PM
Alabama Huntsville
Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 30
1:00 PM
Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Little Caesars Arena Great Lakes Invitational
Mon Dec 31
TBA
Michigan State / Lake Superior State
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Little Caesars Arena Great Lakes Invitational
Fri Jan 04
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota State
Sat Jan 05
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota State
Fri Jan 11
7:07 PM
Bowling Green
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
7:07 PM
Bowling Green
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 18
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Sat Jan 19
8:37 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Fri Jan 25
11:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Jan 26
11:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Feb 08
7:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 09
5:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 15
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Fri Feb 22
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 23
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 01
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Sat Mar 02
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Tech-Northern Rivalry Resumes on Ice This Weekend

Tech-Northern Rivalry Resumes on Ice This Weekend

THE MATCHUP
Fri./Sat., Feb. 21/22, 2013 • 7:07 p.m. (ET) • John MacInnes Student Ice Arena (4,466)/ Berry Events Center (4,260)

Michigan Tech (12-16-6, 10-10-4 WCHA) vs Northern Michigan (12-16-2, 10-11-1 WCHA)

Television: Fox UP (Mark Evans, Dave Ellis)
Radio: WKMJ 93.5 FM (Dirk Hembroff)
Video Webcast: americaonesports.com/package_wcha.asp
Audio Webcast: Pasty.net
Live Stats: collegehockeynews.com/schedules/scoreboard.php

Full version of game notes available in pdf.

THE SERIES WITH NORTHERN MICHIGAN
Michigan Tech plays its second home-and-home series of the season against arch rival Northern Michigan this weekend. The teams split the October series with the home team winning each game. The Wildcats hold a 67-50-13 lead in the all-time series with the Huskies. In league games between the teams, NMU holds a slim 33-31-2 mark.

HIETALA TALLIES TWICE
Blake Hietala scored a goal in each game of last weekend's series vs. Alaska. The junior forward tallied off a nice centering pass from Tanner Kero in the second period Friday and added a goal with a deflection of a shot from the point in the third period Saturday. Hietala now has seven goals on the season and 14 total points.

CLIFF WATSON LEADS NATION IN BLOCKED SHOTS
Freshman defenseman Cliff Watson has blocked a nation-leading 90 shots this season—2.65 per game. The next-highest total is 80.

KERO NOTCHES TEAM-LEADING 13TH GOAL
Junior Tanner Kero added to his team lead in goals with his 13th on Saturday. The assistant captain wristed a shot through traffic on the power play in the second period. Kero, who had an assist in Friday's game, extended his point streak to four games. He owns 4-2=6 in the last six games and 13-10=23 in 34 games this season.

POWER PLAY PROGRESS
Michigan Tech has scored at least one power-play goal in six consecutive games. The Huskies went a combined 2-for-8 on the man advantage vs. Alaska last weekend and are 8-for-27 (29.6 percent) over the last six games. Tech's power play has improved from 10.4 percent to 13.7 percent since Jan. 31.

PIETILA STILL ON TOP
Captain Blake Pietila maintains the team point lead with 24 on eight goals and 16 assists. The junior was held off the scoreboard last weekend, but still has 12 points (5g, 7a) in the last eight games.

LEIBINGER BREAKS DRY SPELL
Chris Leibinger notched an assist in both games last weekend and now has a point in three straight games. The freshman defenseman, who broke a 27-game drought with an assist Feb. 7 vs. Alabama Huntsville, now owns 1-4=5 in 33 games this season.

JOHNSTONE WITH 15 POINTS IN 19 GAMES
David Johnstone extended his point streak to five games Friday (Feb. 14) with a power-play goal. It was his 11th point in 11 games since Jan. 1. Johnstone did not score Saturday, but has 9-6=15 in 19 games on the season.

FOUR-GAME WIN STREAK
Michigan Tech had its four-game WCHA winning streak snapped on Friday (Feb. 14). It was the longest league winning streak for the Huskies since Jan. 25-Feb. 7, 1991.

HOME FINALE AND SENIOR NIGHT
The Huskies wrap up their regular season home schedule Friday (Feb. 21) with the game against Northern Michigan. Tech will celebrate Senior Night following the contest by honoring its six seniors—Ryan Furne, Daniel Holmberg, Jacob Johnstone, Dennis Rix, Dan Sova and Brad Stebner—in a ceremony on the ice.

HUSKIES BITES
First goals continue to be critical in Tech games. The Huskies are 8-2-3 when scoring the first goal of the game and 4-12-3 when their opponents score first … Michigan Tech owns a 12-12-5 record since Oct. 26 and are .500 in conference play (10-10-4) on the season. The last time the Huskies finished at .500 or better in league play was 1992-93 … The Black and Gold are 53.5 percent successful on faceoffs this season.