Fri Dec 09
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Sat Dec 10
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Thu Dec 29
3:30 PM
Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Joe Louis Arena, Detroit 52nd Annual Great Lakes Invitational
Fri Dec 30
TBA
Michigan State/Western Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Joe Louis Arena, Detroit 52nd Annual Great Lakes Invitational
Fri Jan 06
7:35 PM
Michigan Tech
at Notre Dame
Sat Jan 07
7:05 PM
Michigan Tech
at Notre Dame
Fri Jan 13
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 14
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 20
7:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 21
7:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 27
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alabama Huntsville
Sat Jan 28
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alabama Huntsville
Fri Feb 03
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Sat Feb 04
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Fri Feb 10
7:07 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men's Ice Hockey

Three-Time NCAA Champions Eight-Time WCHA Champions

Khaira to Sign NHL Contract with Edmonton

Khaira to Sign NHL Contract with Edmonton

HOUGHTON, Mich. — Michigan Tech hockey coach Mel Pearson announced today that sophomore Jujhar Khaira (Surrey, B.C.) is foregoing his final years of eligibility to sign a contract with the NHL's Edmonton Oilers. The 6-3 forward will attend their upcoming prospects camp and their main preseason camp with the goal of making the Oilers' opening day roster.

Khaira tallied six goals and 19 assists for 25 total points as a freshman with the Huskies last season. He finished tied for fourth on the team in scoring and earned a plus-minus rating of plus two while playing in all 37 of the team's games. He was named WCHA Rookie of the Week Nov. 20 after helping Tech to a pair of overtime wins with two goals and an assist. In the classroom, Khaira earned a 3.38 grade point average in business management.

"We thank Jujhar for his year at Tech," said Pearson. "He grew immensely as a player and person. It's bittersweet to see him go, but we know he's following his dream.

"The Oilers are one of the young, exciting teams in the NHL, and I know Jujhar figures into their plans for the future. Thanks to my assistant coaches Billy Muckalt and Damon Whitten for their work in developing him and getting him ready for the next level. He will be missed, but his departure creates an opportunity for someone else to step up."

Khaira was one of three NHL draft picks on the Tech roster. He was chosen by Edmonton in the third round (63rd overall) of the 2012 draft.

"I'm really excited to take the next step," said Khaira. "I had a phenomenal time at Tech—one of the best of my life—and I wouldn't have changed going there. There were so many great people including my teammates and coaches. Everyone helped me out a lot, and I'm very grateful."

Michigan Tech opens its 2013-14 season Oct. 5 vs. Laurentian.