No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
6:00 PM
UW-Stout
Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
5:30 PM
Winona State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
7:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
3:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
7:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
2:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
7:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
View Full Schedule

Huskies Comeback for 75-70 Win at Northwood

Huskies Comeback for 75-70 Win at Northwood

MIDLAND, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team rallied for a 75-70 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference win at Northwood University on Saturday afternoon. The Huskies trailed by as a many as 12 points in the contest before taking the lead for good in the final two minutes of the game.

"I'm happy for our team that we were able to bounce back and get the win this afternoon on the road," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "We had a little bit of a lull from Thursday to start the game, but I thought our team really responded well and we played a great second half to comeback. We played well enough to get caught up, they made a run, but then we were able to make the final run of the day to win it. It was a good team effort all the way around. We are excited to get back home for a couple of big games next week against Ferris State and Lake Superior State."

Michigan Tech (13-10, 10-6 GLIAC) got the upper hand early with five of the game's first seven points. Freshman Dawson Bilksi filled up a triple to make it 3-2 with just over a minute gone by. Freshman Isaac Appleby then found senior A.J. Grazulis for a jumper in the paint with 17:55 to go to make it 5-2. However, Northwood (9-15, 5-11 GLIAC) would control the majority of the remainder of the half.

The Timberwolves eventually created a 12-point gap at 28-16 on a Nick Spitzley three-point bucket with 7:07 to go in the first half. Tech was able to chop the deficit down to 31-29 courtesy of a Bryan Heath trey with 2:11 to go until the break, but David Jelinek and Trey McBride combined for the final four points to give Northwood a 35-29 lead going into the locker room at halftime.

Junior Kyle Monroe then brought the Huskies to within one at 37-36 on a triple early in the second half. Northwood responded though and built their advantage back to nine points at 51-42 on an Alex Marty three-pointer with just over 12 minutes remaining. The Huskies then fought all the way back to take a 56-55 lead five minutes later on a Monroe layup, but five consecutive points from the Timberwolves kept Tech at bay at least for the time being.

Trailing 64-60 with under four minutes left, the Huskies engineered a 6-0 run, culminating on an Appleby layup at the 1:52 mark. The teams then traded baskets during the next minute and with the score tied at 68-68, Appleby stepped up to hit one of the key shots in the contest.

Monroe drove the lane and then fired the ball into the right corner where Appleby lined up the go ahead three-point shot. Monroe then came up with a steal which led to two free throws. Grazulis proceeded to seal the win with a pair of successful attempts at the charity stripe with five seconds showing on the clock.

Heath powered the Michigan Tech offense with 19 points, going 7 of 11 from the field and 3 for 5 behind the three-point arc. Monroe followed with 18 points and made three steals on the defensive end of the floor. Grazulis added 12 points and Appleby chipped in 11 points while leading the team with six assists. Sophomore Ryan Schuller tossed in eight points and Bilski collected a team high four rebounds.

The Huskies were on target with 27 of their 51 shots from the field (52.9%), were 7 of 16 from three-point range (43.8%), and 14-15 at the free throw line (93.3%). Each shot at the charity stripe came in the second half and helped Tech rally for the win.

Northwood was guided by Jelinek who poured in 17 points followed by McBride with 14 points. Spitzley finished the afternoon with 11 points and Demitri Martin rounded out the double digit scorers with 10 points. Brad Schaub pulled down a team high seven rebounds while dishing out four assists. The Timberwolves connected on 28 of 58 shots from the floor (48.3%), were 6 of 20 from outside the arc (30.0%), and 8 of 10 at the free throw line (80.0%).

The Huskies return home on Thursday to begin a four game home stand against Ferris State in the SDC Gym. Tech will then battle Lake Superior State on Saturday before hosting Wayne State and Davenport during the final week of the regular season. Thursday's tip-off against the Bulldogs is scheduled for 7:30 p.m.