No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Sat Nov 10
TBA
TBA
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Marquette, Mich. (Northern Michigan Tournament)
Sun Nov 11
TBA
TBA
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Marquette, Mich. (Northern Michigan Tournament)
Sun Nov 18
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Alderson Broaddus
@ Erie, Pa. (Gannon University Tournament)
Sat Nov 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Erie, Pa. (Gannon University Tournament)
Thu Nov 29
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
7:30 PM
Parkside
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
3:00 PM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
6:00 PM
UW-Stout
Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
5:30 PM
Winona State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
7:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
3:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
7:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
2:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
7:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Suffer a 105-94 Loss at Saginaw Valley State in Double OT

Photo Courtesy of Saginaw Valley State Athletics Communications
Photo Courtesy of Saginaw Valley State Athletics Communications

UNIVERSITY CENTER, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team suffered a Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference loss 105-94 in double overtime at Saginaw Valley State Thursday night. It was the first double overtime game for the Huskies since February 25th, 2006 when they went two extra frames against Northern Michigan in Marquette.

"It was a terribly disappointing loss tonight for our team," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "Their offense got clicking in the second half and we weren't able to execute our systems either offensively or defensively. Our guys logged a lot of minutes tonight so we'll look to get some rest and try and bounce back Saturday at Northwood."

The beginning of the game Thursday night didn't lend itself to one that would eventually proceed into double overtime. Michigan Tech (12-10, 9-6 GLIAC) fired out of the gate on a 10-0 scoring run to grab the early advantage. Senior A.J. Grazulis got the Huskies on the board with a layup followed by a triple from junior Bryan Heath. Sophomore Ryan Schuller converted a pair of chances at the free throw line and freshman Dawson Bilski dialed in a triple to cap it with 16:22 to play in the first half.

Sebastiano Lamonato made two free throws for Saginaw Valley State (9-14, 6-9 GLIAC) just over four minutes into the contest. James Toohey provided the Cardinals first field goal of the evening on a mid-range jumper to cut Tech's lead to 10-4 before two triples courtesy of junior Kyle Monroe bumped the gap back to double digits at 16-4 with 14:06 left in the first half. Monroe's buckets generated the first six of what turned into 50 points on the night, tying a Michigan Tech single game scoring record while breaking the GLIAC regular season single game mark.

The Huskies would eventually go up by 18 points with 11:44 to play on the first half clock when Schuller hauled down an offensive rebound leading to a put back basket to make it a 26-8 score. The Cardinals didn't give up and chipped eight points off of their deficit in the final minutes of the half. Mike Wells Jr. brought SVSU to within singles digits at 45-37 on a jumper with 39 seconds to go until the break. Wells Jr. would go on to score 44 points Thursday night. Monroe chalked up the final two points of the half for Tech on a layup to push Tech's lead back to 10 points at 47-37 going into the locker room.

The Huskies were unable to pull away in the second half as the Cardinals quietly trimmed points off of their deficit. SVSU eventually moved in front 61-60 on a James Toohey three-pointer with 10:34 to go. Both offenses were nearly unstoppable for the remainder of the second half and through the first overtime with the lead changing hands seven times during that stretch.

Tech looked to potentially put the game away with 1:35 to go in regulation when Monroe converted a conventional three-point play to make it a two possession lead at 83-78. Unfortunately, Malik Garner quickly answered with a layup and free throw following a Tech foul to cut the Huskies' edge to two once again at 83-81. The gap went back to five points for the Huskies at 86-81 on a trey by Monroe with 36 seconds on the clock, but Wells teamed up with Fred John Jr. to tie the score at 86-86. The Cardinals were also aided by two missed free throws from the Huskies in the final seconds to send the game into overtime.

Neither side produced a lead greater than three points in the first overtime period as the Huskies and Cardinals eventually matched each other point for point, leaving the score deadlocked at 91-91 going into the final overtime. Unfortunately, Saginaw Valley State would record the first eight points to begin the second overtime, culminating on a three-point bucket by Toohey to make it 99-91 with 1:55 to play. It was a deficit the Huskies were unable to recover from.

Monroe led all scorers Thursday night with 50 points and 11 rebounds. Monroe made 15 field goals which included seven successful three-point buckets in that total. Monroe is now tied with Larry Grimes in the Tech record books for most points in the single game. Grimes reached 50 points on January 29th 1972 against St. Cloud State. Heath followed Monroe with 18 points and three rebounds while Schuller matched a career high with nine points and three boards.

The Huskies found the target on 31 of 59 shots from the field (52.5%), they were 13 for 30 from three-point range (43.3%), and 19 of 29 at the free throw line (65.5%). Rebounds were even at 33 apiece for both teams.

Wells Jr. fired in 44 points as he matched Monroe in both total field goals made (15) and successful three-point opportunities (7) for Saginaw Valley State. Toohey followed with 22 points, Lamonato added 15 points along with nine rebounds, and D.J. Hoskins chipped in 10 points to round out the double-digit scorers. The Cardinals took 70 shots and made 39 of them (55.7%), knocked down 15 of 30 looks from three-point land (50.0%), and were 12 of 20 at the free throw line (60.0%).

The Huskies travel up the road on Saturday to face Northwood in a GLIAC showdown to wrap up the weekend. The tip-off is scheduled for 3 p.m.