No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
6:00 PM
UW-Stout
Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
5:30 PM
Winona State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
7:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
3:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
7:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
2:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
7:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
View Full Schedule

Huskies Hang On for 77-75 Victory over Grand Valley State

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team held off a late charge by Grand Valley State University Thursday night to secure a 77-75 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference win in the SDC Gym. The Huskies led by as many as 15 points in the second half, but survived a last second shot that was off target by the Lakers which could have tied the game. The Huskies extended their win streak to four games and swept the regular season series with GVSU by virtue of Thursday's victory.

"For the most part, I'm happy with our performance tonight when we executed our systems," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "Credit goes to Grand Valley State because they played hard the whole game and implemented their game plan very well. We got loose a little bit though and as a result of it they made some timely runs to get back into it.

"Bryan [Heath] really gave us a hand tonight and I thought everybody in the absence of Tommy [Lucca] stepped up and played well. Bryan was awesome though, taking the ball to the rim, connecting on his three point shots, and converting at the free throw line. It was a great game for him tonight."

Both offenses had the hot hand early on with Michigan Tech (11-9, 8-5 GLIAC) and Grand Valley State (11-10, 6-7 GLIAC) trading basket for basket in the first four minutes Thursday night. Junior Kyle Monroe drew the Huskies even at 12-12 on a conventional three-point play that also sparked a 9-0 run. Monroe proceeded to fire in back to back triples to give the Huskies their largest lead at that juncture 18-12.

The Lakers countered with the next four points on jumpers by Zach West and Chris Dorsey to draw within two points at 18-16 with 13:04 remaining in the first half. However, the Huskies created eight more points worth of separation during the next four minutes to go up by 10 points at 28-18. Junior Bryan Heath found the target on one of his four three-point baskets to give Tech a double digit lead for the first time with 9:31 on the clock.

Grand Valley State quietly chipped away at Tech's lead and climbed all the way back to within three points with just over one minute to play until the intermission. Hunter Hale drove the lane for a layup and made a free throw for a conventional three-point play following a Tech foul, making it a 40-37 score. Heath bumped the lead back to six at 43-37 on a long range jumper before Chris Dorsey closed the half with a layup for the Lakers, sending the Huskies into the intermission with a 43-39 lead.

Michigan Tech got the inside game rolling early in the second half with four layups by Monroe, senior A.J. Grazulis, and Heath. That success on the inside then opened up the outside game as senior Dillon Gordon capped a strong opening six minutes of the second half with a triple. Gordon's trey created Tech's largest lead of the night at 59-44 with 14:16 to play in the contest.

Unfortunately, the Lakers chopped the gap back down to single digits over the next four plus minutes. Jake Van Tubbergen brought Grand Valley State back to within two possessions at 61-55 on a layup with 9:43 on the second half clock. The Huskies moved back out to a nine-point lead at 75-66 on a conventional three-point play by Heath with just over two minutes left, but the Lakers wouldn't go quietly.

Grand Valley State made things very interesting in the final minute as Hale delivered a triple followed by a Myles Miller layup and free throw which cut Tech's edge to 77-75. The Huskies got the ball back with 35 seconds left, but a three-point attempt by Monroe with the shot clock winding down was blocked by Chris Pearl. West grabbed the rebound and fired the ball up the floor to Miller who drove to the basket. Fortunately, his last second layup trickled off the side of the rim as the buzzer sounded and ended the night with the Huskies securing the two-point win.

Heath guided the Huskies with 23 points by going 7 of 12 from the field, 4 for 7 from behind the arc, and a perfect 5 for 5 at the free throw stripe. Monroe followed with 22 points, five rebounds and four assists while Gordon rounded out the double digit scorers with 10 points. Grazulis chipped in eight points and had a team high eight rebounds. Freshman Isaac Appleby tacked on six points and dished out a game high six assists.

As a team, Tech was successful on 26 of 53 shots from the field (49.1%), went 12 of 26 from three-point range (46.2%), and 13 of 19 at the free throw line (68.4%). The Huskies led for over 35 minutes in Thursday's game.

Hale had a double-double for the Lakers thanks to 24 points and 10 rebounds. Van Tubbergen followed with 14 points, Dorsey contributed 13 points, and Miller notched 10 points while dealing out a team best five assists. Grand Valley State made 29 of 63 shot attempts from the field (46.0%), dialed in 7 of 14 chances from three-point land (50.0%), and 10 of 14 opportunities at the free throw line (71.4%). The Lakers had the advantage in rebounding 43-24.

The Huskies will be back in action on Saturday when they host Purdue Northwest for another GLIAC battle. The tip-off from the SDC is slated for 3 p.m.