No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
6:00 PM
UW-Stout
Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
5:30 PM
Winona State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
7:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
3:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
7:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
2:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
7:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
View Full Schedule

Huskies Topped by Lake Superior State 84-73

Huskies Topped by Lake Superior State 84-73

SAULT STE. MARIE, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team fell at Lake Superior State 84-73 in a Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference contest Saturday afternoon. The Huskies battled back from a 22-point second half deficit to close the gap to nine points late in the peiord, but the Lakers hit some key buckets in the final minutes to hold off Tech.

"One of the positives from today's game is that we battled back and kept fighting," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "I also thought we were a little more fluid on offense today and our game plan on defense was good as well. We still have some work to do from a mental standpoint and executing our systems well which we were able to do at times today. This is a good team and we'll keep working to get things fixed. If we play like we are capable of we have the ability to compete with any team in the GLIAC."

Michigan Tech (7-9, 4-5 GLIAC) and Lake Superior State (14-3, 8-1 GLIAC) traded buckets during the first few minutes of the first half of Saturday's game. Senior A.J. Grazulis grabbed an offensive rebound and found the bottom of the net on a put back basket to give the Huskies a 2-0 lead. The next four points though belonged to the Lakers Akaemji Williams which gave Lake Superior State a 4-2 edge.

Sophomore Tommy Lucca then came down the floor and drilled a triple to put Tech back on top at 5-4. The Lakers eventually went up 11-5 on another layup from Williams, but junior Kyle Monroe delivered back to back triples to knot the score at 11-11 with just under 12 minutes to play in the first half. Junior Bryan Heath gave Michigan Tech the edge again at 14-13 on a trey of his own and then extended Tech's lead to three points at 18-15 with 9:10 remaining in the opening half.

The teams exchanged points again over the next two minutes until a 10-0 Laker run netted them a 31-23 lead with 4:33 to play in the first half. Rog Stein created a 35-25 gap which favored the Lakers on a layup at the 2:23 mark and eventually Lake Superior State would carry a 12-point separation of 39-27 into the locker room at halftime.

The Lakers kept creating more distance between themselves and the Huskies throughout the start of the second half. Josh Goldschmidt fired in a three-point basket with 11:41 showing on the clock to give Lake Superior State their biggest advantage of the afternoon at 60-38. However, the Huskies would not go away quietly.

The Huskies chipped away at the deficit one basket at a time over the next few minutes until the gap was down to 11 points at 66-55 following a Monroe three-point play. The Lakers bumped their lead back to 15 points on a couple of occasions until a Lucca trey dropped it down to ten points at 75-65 with 4:03 to go. Just under a minute later, Monroe converted at the free throw line to get Tech within single digits at 75-66. Unfortunately, the Huskies could get no closer than nine by the time the buzzer sounded.

Monroe powered the Tech offense with 20 points and shared the team lead in rebounds with four. Heath produced 12 points and four rebounds followed by Grazulis and Lucca with 10 points apiece. Lucca also grabbed four rebounds and dished out a team high six assists. Freshman Dawson Bilski nearly reached double figures for the second game in a row with nine points.

The Huskies found the mark on 28 of 54 shots from the field (51.9%), were 10 of 26 from three-point range (38.5%), and 7 of 11 at the free throw line (63.6%). Tech out-rebounded Lake Superior State 23-22 in Saturday's contest.

Williams produced a game high 33 points for the Lakers followed by Goldschmidt with 18 points. Williams hauled down six rebounds and defensively created problems for the Tech offense with nine steals. The Lakers were good on 32 of 53 shots from the floor (60.4%), were 6 of 16 from the three-point line (37.5%), and 14 of 19 at the free throw line (73.7%).

Michigan Tech will travel to Wayne State and Davenport next week for two more GLIAC contests. The Huskies will battle the Warriors on Thursday night before meeting the Panthers on Saturday. Thursday's tip-off at Wayne State is scheduled for 7:30 p.m.