No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
6:00 PM
UW-Stout
Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
5:30 PM
Winona State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
7:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
3:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
7:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
2:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
7:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
View Full Schedule

Huskies Tripped up by Ashland

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team came up empty in a Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference contest against Ashland 73-62 Thursday night in the SDC Gym. The Huskies went up by as many as nine points in the first half, but the Eagles battled back with a strong second half to prevail.

"I'm terribly disappointed in how the game turned out tonight," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "We still need to become more tough as a team and we have a long way to go. I don't want to take anything away from Ashland because they are a very good club, but we missed some open shots and didn't execute like we needed to. We need to get back to work and try and bounce back Saturday against Tiffin."

Michigan Tech (7-6, 4-2 GLIAC) and Ashland (11-3, 4-2 GLIAC) traded baskets during the first six minutes of the game. The Huskies found themselves behind 11-9 after a layup by Teddy Metzen with 13:58 on the first half clock. Tech then strung together eight straight points to go up 17-11 with just over 12 minutes left in the half. Junior Bryan Heath knocked down a triple, junior Kyle Monroe sank two free throws, and then Heath added another trey to cap the scoring run.

The Huskies bumped their lead to 28-19 on a conventional three-point play by Monroe only to see the Eagles storm back to regain the advantage in the final three minutes of the half. Wendell Davis sank a pair of shots at the charity stripe to push Ashland ahead 30-28 and then a triple by Joey Zahn made it a 35-30 advantage for Ashland with 1:09 to go until the break. A layup by Heath and successful free throw attempt after being fouled in the act of shooting drew the Huskies to within two at 35-33 before the buzzer sounded.

Ashland changed the complexion of the game with a 10-2 scoring burst to open the second half. Ben Haraway sank the triple that made it a 48-35 score with 16:33 to go in the contest. The Huskies climbed to within seven points on two occasions near the midway point of the second period and were within striking distance at nine points at 59-50 following a layup by sophomore Tommy Lucca at the 6:31 mark. Unfortunately, back to back field goals by the Eagles would grant them a double digit lead the rest of the way.

Monroe guided the Huskies with a team high 21 points and nine rebounds followed by Heath with 13 points in Thursday's game. Freshman Isaac Appleby had a team high four assists in addition to four points and four rebounds. Lucca saw action in his first game since the season opener and chipped in seven points. Senior Dillon Gordon contributed eight points, with six coming from behind the arc. As a team, the Huskies were 24 of 61 from the field (39.3%), 8 of 25 from three-point range (32.0%), and 6 of 8 from the free throw line (75.0%).

Davis powered Ashland and led all scorers with a game high 26 points and 11 rebounds. Marsalis Hamilton fired in 14 points while Drew Noble collected nine points and 10 rebounds. The Eagles found the target on 29 of 59 shots from the field (49.2%), were 8 of 24 from three-point range (33.3%), and 7 of 10 from the free throw line (70.0%). The Eagles also had a sizeable advantage in rebounding at 40-30.

The Huskies will look to regroup on Saturday when they host Tiffin University in another GLIAC contest at the SDC Gym. The tip-off is scheduled for 3 p.m.