Thu Jan 19
7:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 21
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 26
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 28
3:00 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Mon Jan 30
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Feb 02
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 04
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 09
7:30 PM
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 11
2:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 16
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Feb 18
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 23
7:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Tue Feb 28
TBA
GLIAC Quarterfinals
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
Sat Mar 04
TBA
GLIAC Tournament
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
Sun Mar 05
TBA
GLIAC Tournament
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men's Basketball Hands Out Team Awards

Men's Basketball Hands Out Team Awards

HOUGHTON, Mich. - The Michigan Tech men's basketball team, which advanced to the semifinals of the NCAA Midwest Regional and won a share of the GLIAC North Division, recently handed out it's team awards.

Senior Ali Haidar was named the Ken Hamar Most Valuable Player for the third straight season. The Windsor, Ont., native earned All-American honors from the National Basketball Coaches Association and Daktronics, Inc. The two-time GLIAC Player of the Year set several records during his career in a Tech uniform. He ranks fourth in career scoring with 1,995 points and first in career rebounds with 893.

Sophomore Ben Stelzer was named the Bill Gappy Most Improved Player after starting all 30 games and averaging 12.1 points per game, third most on the team. The Manitowoc, Wis., native ranked first in the GLIAC in three pointers (84), second in free percentage (.912) and third in three-point shooting (.459).

The Bob Olson Newcomer Award went to freshman Jordan Chartier. The Chatham, Mich., native led the GLIAC in assist-to-turnover ratio (2.8). He appeared in all 30 games, starting two, and averaged 2.0 points per game.

Senior Matt Esters earned the Harold Meese Sportsmanship Award. The Detroit, Mich., native averaged 3.9 points per game and ranked 12th in the GLIAC in assist-to-turnover ratio (1.9).

Freshman Kyle Stankowski earned the Scholastic Achievement Award. The Mosinee, Wis., native has a 3.96 cumulative grade point average in electrical engineering. He averaged 1.3 points per game.