No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 UW-Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at Minn. St. Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
7:30 PM
Ashland
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
3:00 PM
Tiffin
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Jan 20
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Jan 27
3:00 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
3:00 PM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
7:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
7:30 PM
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
3:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Tech Men Edged at Saginaw Valley 53-50

Tech Men Edged at Saginaw Valley 53-50

UNIVERSITY CENTER, Mich. - Just one game after defeating GLIAC-leading Wayne State on Thursday (Feb. 14), the Michigan Tech men's basketball team suffered a 53-50 loss at Saginaw Valley State today.

"This was another disappointing loss after putting ourselves in a good position," said head coach Kevin Luke. "It we want to have a good tournament run, we can't have let downs."

The first half was a battle between the inside play of the Huskies versus the outside shooting of the Cardinals. Tech scored all seven of its field goals in the first half in the paint, and Saginaw scored six of its seven baskets from behind the arc to lead 20-16 at halftime.

SVSU's lead would grow to 11 points at the 14:27 mark of the second. Senior Ali Haidar tied the game at 48 with a lay-up with 1:20 remaining.

Kellen Smith answered with a 3-pointer for the Cardinals and Haidar made a pair of free throws.

Neither team would score on its next possession. Chris Webb gave SVSU a three point lead after making a pair of free throws with 11 seconds remaining.

Haidar's 3-point shot at the buzzer just missed for the Huskies. He finished with 25 points, shooting 10-of-14 from the field and 5-of-7 from the line. He also grabbed 11 rebounds.

Sophomore Ben Stelzer finished with 10 points, including two 3-pointers.

Brett Beland led Saginaw with 18 points, including four 3-pointers. Chris Webb added 15 points, six rebounds and four assists.

The Huskies shot 43-percent (19-44) from the field and held Saginaw to 40-percent (18-45). Tech shot 2-of-14 from deep, but enjoyed a 32-16 edge in points in the paint.

Tech (16-7, 13-6) will begin a three game home stand Thursday (Feb. 21) when it hosts Northwood.